Fighting Monsters: A first-hand account of battling ISIS (Paperback)
  • Fighting Monsters: A first-hand account of battling ISIS (Paperback)
zoom

Fighting Monsters: A first-hand account of battling ISIS (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback Published: 13/06/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 5 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Former British soldier Jim Matthews hit the headlines when he was arrested on terrorism charges - for fighting against ISIS.

Jim gave up a lucrative career teaching English in Saudi Arabia, and headed to Northern Syria to fight ISIS. But why, after years as a left-leaning, anti-war protestor, did he find himself pulled once more into a conflict zone?

Did he miss war?

What is the reality for those fighting ISIS in their own country, and for those like Jim who join that fight? This book attempts to explain, in his words, what it's like there...

An intelligent and evocative memoir, Fighting Monsters explores the reasons for one man's war, while bringing to life the twisted roads, broken border towns and dusty battlefields of Syria and Iraq.

Ideal for fans of Jason Fox's Battle Scars and Ant Middleton's First Man In.

Publisher: Mirror Books
ISBN: 9781912624003
Weight: 264 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'So vivid you can hear the bullets fly' Daily Mail

* Daily Mail *

You may also be interested in...

Six Days
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Iran: Empire of the Mind
Added to basket
The Tragedy of the Templars
Added to basket
Babylon
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
City of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Shah of Shahs
Added to basket
The Balfour Declaration
Added to basket
The Great War for Civilisation
Added to basket
Storm Front
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
An Evil Cradling
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Destiny Disrupted
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Berlin-Baghdad Express
Added to basket
Mesopotamia
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Middle East
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.