Fighting Monsters: A first-hand account of battling ISIS (Paperback)
  • Fighting Monsters: A first-hand account of battling ISIS (Paperback)
zoom

Fighting Monsters: A first-hand account of battling ISIS (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback Published: 13/06/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Former British soldier Jim Matthews hit the headlines when he was arrested on terrorism charges - for fighting against ISIS.

Jim gave up a lucrative career teaching English in Saudi Arabia, and headed to Northern Syria to fight ISIS. But why, after years as a left-leaning, anti-war protestor, did he find himself pulled once more into a conflict zone?

Did he miss war?

What is the reality for those fighting ISIS in their own country, and for those like Jim who join that fight? This book attempts to explain, in his words, what it's like there...

An intelligent and evocative memoir, Fighting Monsters explores the reasons for one man's war, while bringing to life the twisted roads, broken border towns and dusty battlefields of Syria and Iraq.

Ideal for fans of Jason Fox's Battle Scars and Ant Middleton's First Man In.

Publisher: Mirror Books
ISBN: 9781912624003
Weight: 264 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'So vivid you can hear the bullets fly' Daily Mail

* Daily Mail *

You may also be interested in...

The Middle East
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Lemon Tree
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine
Added to basket
Farewell Kabul
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The First Crusade
Added to basket
The Palestine-Israeli Conflict
Added to basket
Palestine
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
Shah of Shahs
Added to basket
Iran: Empire of the Mind
Added to basket
The One That Got Away
Added to basket
Afghanistan
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Mesopotamia
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Balfour Declaration
Added to basket
Babylon
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
The Biggest Prison on Earth
Added to basket
Osman's Dream
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.