Fight Back (Paperback)
  • Fight Back (Paperback)
zoom

Fight Back (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 02/06/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

When a terrorist attack fuels hatred in her area, Aaliyah begins wearing a hijab to challenge people's perceptions in the inspiring and engaging middle grade debut from the author of the acclaimed Boy, Everywhere.

An empowering story about finding your identity and the courage to fight for it. Aaliyah is an ordinary thirteen-year-old living in the Midlands - she's into her books, shoes, K-pop and she is a Muslim. She has always felt at home where she live ... until a terrorist attack in her area changes everything.

As racial tensions increase and she starts getting bullied, Aaliyah decides to begin wearing a hijab - to challenge how people in her community see her. But when her school bans the hijab and she is intimidated and attacked for her choices, she feels isolated. Soon Aaliyah realises that other young people from different backgrounds also struggle with their identity and feel alone, scared and judged. Should she try to blend in - or can she find allies to help her fight back? Channelling all of her bravery, Aaliyah decides to speak out. Together, can Aaliyah and her friends halt the tide of hatred rippling through their community?

An essential read to encourage empathy, challenging stereotypes, exploring prejudice, racism, Islamophobia and positive action. A.M. Dassu is the award-winning author of the critically acclaimed Boy, Everywhere. A story of hope, speaking up and the power of coming together in the face of hatred. Perfect for readers of Elle McNicoll and Helen Rutter.

Publisher: Scholastic
ISBN: 9780702315886
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 132 x 194 x 34 mm

You may also be interested in...

Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Added to basket
Cluedle - The Case of the Dumpleton Diamond
Added to basket
Greenwild: The World Behind The Door
Added to basket
Wonka
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Överlöde (Book 17)
Added to basket
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: No Brainer (Book 18)
Added to basket
The World’s Worst Teachers
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Clockwork Conspiracy
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Added to basket
Lottie Brooks's Totally Disastrous School-Trip
Added to basket
Matilda
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Recommended to ALL”

Thank you to the publishers for this review copy, having been a fan of Boy, Everywhere I was delighted to receive this.
I would absolutely recommend this to ALL readers young and old. If you are a teacher I'd... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Wonderful story telling, vital message”

One of the most vital books for our young generation.
No better way to teach empathy, compassion, understanding, tolerance and the importance of looking beyond.

A book to make the world just that little bit better.

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Tense, heartbreaking, eye-opening and uplifting”

This is an incredibly accomplished book. I adored Boy, Everywhere by the same author and so pounced on this one and it did not disappoint. The characterisation draws you in very quickly so you care about Aaliyah and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: