Fight Back (Paperback)
  • Fight Back (Paperback)
zoom

Fight Back (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 02/06/2022
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

When a terrorist attack fuels hatred in her area, Aaliyah begins wearing a hijab to challenge people's perceptions in the inspiring and engaging middle grade debut from the author of the acclaimed Boy, Everywhere.

An empowering story about finding your identity and the courage to fight for it. Aaliyah is an ordinary thirteen-year-old living in the Midlands - she's into her books, shoes, K-pop and she is a Muslim. She has always felt at home where she live ... until a terrorist attack in her area changes everything.

As racial tensions increase and she starts getting bullied, Aaliyah decides to begin wearing a hijab - to challenge how people in her community see her. But when her school bans the hijab and she is intimidated and attacked for her choices, she feels isolated. Soon Aaliyah realises that other young people from different backgrounds also struggle with their identity and feel alone, scared and judged. Should she try to blend in - or can she find allies to help her fight back? Channelling all of her bravery, Aaliyah decides to speak out. Together, can Aaliyah and her friends halt the tide of hatred rippling through their community?

An essential read to encourage empathy, challenging stereotypes, exploring prejudice, racism, Islamophobia and positive action. A.M. Dassu is the award-winning author of the critically acclaimed Boy, Everywhere. A story of hope, speaking up and the power of coming together in the face of hatred. Perfect for readers of Elle McNicoll and Helen Rutter.

Publisher: Scholastic
ISBN: 9780702315886
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 132 x 194 x 34 mm

Author Signing: A. M. Dassu

Author Signing: A. M. Dassu

Ashford
Saturday 16th July 11:00 - 12:00

Children's author A.M. Dassu will be in store signing copies of Boy Everywhere a story of survival, family, and bravery. She will also be signing her brand new book Fight Back. Come along and meet the author of these amazing and important books of our time.

View

You may also be interested in...

The World's Worst Pets
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Noah's Gold
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
Looshkin: The Maddest Cat in the World
Added to basket
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good
Added to basket
Bunny vs Monkey and the Supersonic Aye-aye
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Added to basket
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Wilder than Midnight
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Legendarium
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Until the End
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Last Firefox
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Colour of Hope
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Girl Who Lost a Leopard
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sabotage on the Solar Express
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.