Femlandia (Hardback)
  • Femlandia (Hardback)
zoom

Femlandia (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages
Published: 28/10/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Amidst the turmoil of economic collapse and personal loss, Miranda and her daughter seek refuge in a deceptively idyllic female community in this chilling dystopian thriller from the bestselling author of Vox and Q.

The explosive new thriller from the bestselling author of VOX and Q

JOIN THE SISTERHOOD

The United States has sunk into total collapse.

Men in positions of power have wrecked the economy and left women to suffer and pick up the pieces.

Miranda Reynolds has lost her husband, her job and her home. There's only one place left that she and her daughter Emma can go. Femlandia.

Femlandia is a female-only community. A utopia for women. There's a reason Miranda never joined before. Now she has no choice.

With what Miranda knows about Femlandia's founder, she's right to be wary. While life outside the gates is fraught with danger, there's something just as sinister going on within.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008440329
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 570 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

‘Dalcher is adept at writing genuinely scary high-concept fiction’ SFX ‘The queen of dystopia.’ Nina Pottell, PRIMA ‘[Dalcher] knows how to hit the emotional buttons…this is a compelling, fast paced read.’ GUARDIAN ‘ I read it with my breath held, unable to stop until I'd reached the explosive ending. You will definitely want to discuss this one with your book club.’ STEPHANIE WROBEL, author of THE RECOVERY OF ROSE GOLD ‘Equally as chilling and gripping as her debut, VOX’ RED ‘Clever and chilling – and all too plausible – Femlandia is a timely story about survival and the corruptive nature of power. I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it!’ CAROLE JOHNSTONE, author of MIRRORLAND 'Shocking, provocative, subversive, FEMLANDIA is a fantasy of female empowerment that curdles into a nightmare.' KIA ABDULLAH, author of NEXT OF KIN ‘A real page-turner’ BELLA 'Another superb novel from the author of VOX and Q’ BELFAST TELEGRAPH 'Both gripping and terrifyingly disturbing in equal measures.' LISA HALL, author of THE WOMAN IN THE WOODS ‘A no-holds-barred thriller and thought-provoking read for fans of Margaret Atwood’s THE HANDMAID’S TALE, NaomiAlderman’s THE POWER, and Kim Liggett’s THE GRACE YEAR.’ Library Journal ‘Engrossing. Dalcher’s novel is imaginative, urgent, and compulsively readable, not mention incredibly cool.’ AMANDA MONTELL, author of CULTISH ‘This wildly provocative glimpse into the future is sure to spark lively discussions…Dalcher remains a writer to watch’ PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

You may also be interested in...

Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“Love all her books”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy, having loved VOX and Q I had no option but to read it as soon as it landed.
This is another good thriller with a dystopian twist. Is Femlandia the answer? Can it... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Fast-paced dystopia”

I'm always excited to read a new Christina Dalcher book - she writes very gripping, fast paced dystopias, and Femlandia is no exception. I was very lucky to receive an advanced copy for review (thank you!) and... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 9
kendrafortune

“A fantastic book”

After a catastrophic economic collapse that has seen everyone fighting for survival in a world where civilisation has all but broken down, Miranda seeks out the only place that she can think of which might be safe for... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: