Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Falling into Place (Paperback)
  • Falling into Place (Paperback)
zoom

Falling into Place (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 13/08/2015
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

She would be an object in motion that would stay in motion, even if it meant flattening everything in her path.

One cold fall day, high school junior Liz Emerson steers her car into a tree. Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? This haunting, nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High's most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force-Liz didn't understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn't understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect?

An Indies Introduce Title

A Top Ten Indies Next Pick

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062295057
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 227 g
Dimensions: 203 x 135 x 18 mm
Edition: International ed.


MEDIA REVIEWS
"The breezy yet powerful and exceptionally perceptive writing style, multifaceted characters, surprisingly hopeful ending, and pertinent contemporary themes frame an engrossing, thought-provoking story that will be snapped up by readers of Todd Mitchell's Backwards and Gayle Forman's If I Stay." -- School Library Journal
"The haunting story of a suicide attempt gone awry as high school junior Liz Emerson drives her Mercedes off the road, winding up in a coma...Zhang writes with confidence and finesse, and many readers will be moved as Liz recognizes the lives she has damaged." -- Kirkus Reviews
"An impressive debut . . . should appeal to readers who sobbed through Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why." -- Booklist
"Amy Zhang crashes onto the YA scene with this debut novel about a physics student who puts Newton's Laws of Motion into practice by driving her Mercedes into a tree. . . . A good pick for fans of Lauren Oliver's Before I Fall and Gayle Forman's If I Stay." -- Shelf Awareness for Readers
"Insightful . . . it's interesting to see the mean girl through the eyes of the people who love her, despite (and sometimes because of ) her flaws." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

You may also be interested in...

Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Dog Man 5: Lord of the Fleas
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Mr Stink
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Flamingo Boy
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dork Diaries: Birthday Drama!
Added to basket
Tom Gates 15: What Monster?
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Nevermoor: Nevermoor
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Truth Pixie
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Midnight Gang
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Jolly Christmas Postman
Added to basket
Poppy Field
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
P.S. I Still Love You
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“Compelling contemporary novel”

I'm not usually a big fan of contemporary novels, but as soon as I started this book I was totally immersed in Liz Emerson's world. It has a unique voice which added an element of intrigue to the plot, and... More

Paperback edition
22nd September 2014
Helpful? Upvote 22

“Debut!”

Powerful young adult debut.
Recommended reading.
Emotional read.

Paperback edition
8th September 2014
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.