Execution: Signed Bookplate Edition - Giordano Bruno 6 (Hardback)
  • Execution: Signed Bookplate Edition - Giordano Bruno 6 (Hardback)
zoom

Execution: Signed Bookplate Edition - Giordano Bruno 6 (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 09/07/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Giordano Bruno investigates a murderous conspiracy to replace the Queen with her Catholic sister Mary in another sharply plotted Elizabethan tale, full of vengeance, intrigue and political mayhem. 

Signed Bookplate Edition
A standard edition is available here

The No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling series

The new book in S. J. Parris's bestselling, critically acclaimed series following Giordano Bruno, set at the time of Queen Elizabeth I

England, 1586.

A TREASONOUS CONSPIRACY
Giordano Bruno, a heretic turned spy, arrives in England with shocking information for spymaster Sir Francis Walsingham. A band of Catholic Englishmen are plotting to kill Queen Elizabeth and spring Mary Queen of Scots from prison to take the English throne in her place.

A DEADLY TRAP
Bruno is surprised to find that Walsingham is aware of the plot, led by the young, wealthy noble Anthony Babington, and is allowing it to progress. He hopes that Mary will put her support in writing - and condemn herself to a traitor's death.

A QUEEN IN MORTAL DANGER
Bruno is tasked with going undercover to join the conspirators. Can he stop them before he is exposed? Either way a queen will die; Bruno must make sure it is the right one...

Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 2928377025908
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 125 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 15 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for S. J. Parris:

'A delicious blend of history and thriller' - The Times

'An omnipresent sense of danger' - Daily Mail

'Colourful characters, fast-moving plots and a world where one false step in religion or politics can mean a grisly death' - Sunday Times

'Pacy, intricate, and thrilling' - Observer

'Vivid, sprawling ... Well-crafted, exuberant' - Financial Times

'Impossible to resist' - Daily Telegraph

'Twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes' - Stuart MacBride

'It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history' - Kate Mosse

'The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping' - Conn Iggulden

'A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I' - Andrew Taylor

'S.J. Parris's Giordano novels are always worth reading. The sixth, Execution, is no exception - a brilliantly realised fictionalisation of the Babington plot against Elizabeth 1' - Observer

'Parris takes us to the heart of the Elizabethan court, a world of secrets and lies. Superbly plotted, shimmeringly written, it will have you on the edge of your seat and take you into an underground world of do or die - where a man's life is as nothing and everyone is a gambler in a game of queens' - Kate Williams, author of The Storms of War

'An impressive feat. The plot, one of exhilarating complexity, was handled with aplomb' - Marisa Haetzman, also writes as Ambrose Parry

'I can thoroughly recommend Conspiracy, which twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes' - Stuart MacBride

'Parris's Giordano Bruno series has been a joy' - Sunday Telegraph

'Impossible to resist ... Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins' - Daily Telegraph

'It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history' - Kate Mosse

You may also be interested in...

Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Kingdom
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Silent Wife
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Bruno is back!”

Historical fiction does not get much better. S.J Parris is a master at creating rich, atmospheric novels, full of intrigue, featuring the infamous heretic, philosopher and spy, Giordano Bruno.
As we delve into a... More

Hardback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 67

“A cracking good read!”

I was sent a copy of Execution by S.J. Parris to read and review by NetGalley.
Another cracking good read from S.J. Parris with Giordano Bruno at the helm. Full of intrigue and twists and turns the story concerns a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

“Giordano awakes”

The title is a bit of a tease. Is Bruno finally executed for heresy? Is it Mary queen of Scots? Or could it possibly be another or others?

Giordano Bruno returns to England anxious to ingratiate himself with the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.