Everything is Beautiful (Paperback)
  • Everything is Beautiful (Paperback)
zoom

Everything is Beautiful (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 16/09/2021
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A heartwarming read perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, Ray's uplifting debut finds a woman who has hoarded items from happier times reconnect once more with the magic of a fully-lived life.

When Amy Ashton's world fell apart eleven years ago, she started a collection. Just a few keepsakes of happier times: some honeysuckle to remind herself of the boy she loved, a chipped china bird, an old terracotta pot . . . Things that others might throw away, but to Amy, represent a life that could have been.

Now her house is overflowing with the objects she loves - soon there'll be no room for Amy at all. But when a family move in next door, a chance discovery unearths a mystery, and Amy's carefully curated life begins to unravel. If she can find the courage to face her past, might the future she thought she'd lost still be hers for the taking?

Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant and The Keeper of Lost Things, this exquisitely told, uplifting novel shows us that however hopeless things might feel, beauty can be found in the most unexpected of places.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349427416
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 266 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL is a stunning book - intricate, beautifully written and thought-provoking. Packed with psychological realism, Eleanor Ray has perfectly captured how it feels to not quite fit in, to live with emotional baggage, to not know how to let go of the past. It's heart-breaking in parts but ultimately delivers one of the most poignant and heart-warming stories in recent years. Absolutely brilliant and a must-read. - MW Craven, author of THE PUPPET SHOW, CWA Gold Dagger winner

I absolutely loved EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL - a novel filled with beautiful things, mystery and Amy, one of my favourite characters of the year. I couldn't put it down. Book grief when I had to leave Amy behind. - Rachael Blok, author of UNDER THE ICE

An intriguing mystery with a quirky but lovable protagonist - funny, sad and perceptive. This will appeal to fans of The Girl on the Train and Elizabeth is Missing. - L C Tyler, author of A Cruel Necessity

EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL is a truly beautiful book, and wonderfully written. The title is perfect too. Amy is an enchanting character, and I found her story deeply moving. Ray's portrayal of her hoarding in response to grief and trauma was convincing and original, both tender and funny. The novel manages to accommodate so many qualities that might be presumed to be in tension, but in Ray's hands are brought together powerfully, so that it is charming and thrilling, romantic and gripping. The mystery of what happened to Tim and Chantel is compelling and immersive. - Claire Kendal, author of THE BOOK OF YOU

EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL is heart-warming and thought-provoking, a mystery with a difference. It's beautifully constructed around the everyday items its central character hoards, as she slowly uncovers the secrets of her past. I loved it. - Andrea Mara, author of THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WALL

A truly remarkable book that had me hooked from the start and racing to the end. Beautifully written. - Jenni Keer, author of THE HOPES AND DREAMS OF LUCY BAKER

A gently absorbing entry into the mystery-uplit canon. - Vaseem Khan, author of THE UNEXPECTED INHERITANCE OF INSPECTOR CHOPRA

This book quietly took hold of me and wouldn't let me go until I turned the final page. I loved stepping into Amy's world, with all its treasures, and it was a joy to see her beginning to make space for herself. - Beth O’Leary, author of THE FLAT SHARE

I loved this charming, endearing novel...it will melt even the hardest of hearts...If ever there was a time for a book like EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL to lift us above the every day doom and gloom, it is now. - Joanna Nell, author of THE SINGLE LADIES OF JACARANDA RETIREMENT VILLAGE

This book is a tonic for the soul. - Lesley Kara, author of THE RUMOUR

My book of the year! An absolute must read. EVERYTHING IS BEAUTIFUL is everything you'll want in a book. I was pulled into this story from the very first page and didn't want it to end. - Lauren North, author of THE PERFECT BETRAYAL

I loved every bit of it. I think the term in book reviewer lingo is 'utterly captivated' - and I was, as it was not only so beautifully written but the story was so good, too. - Fliss Chester, author of A DANGEROUS GOODBYE

You may also be interested in...

Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Serpent and the Wings of Night
Added to basket
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Fourth Wing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
One Day
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket

“A house full of memories.”

Amy will steal your heart the way Eleanor did in “ Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine”. Her’s is told through the treasures she collects and finds impossible to be parted from, such as a cigarette lighter, China... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 21

“A very special debut”

What a beautiful story. It started to pull me in from the very first page when Amy Ashton is awkwardly mingling with her work colleagues and never let me go until the uplifting conclusion.

Amy is not always an easy... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Truly beautiful!”

Sometimes it's impossible to part with the things we love the most....
“When Amy Ashton's world came crashing down eleven years ago, she started a collection. Just a little collection, just a few keepsakes... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: