Everything Happens for a Reason (Paperback)
  • Everything Happens for a Reason (Paperback)
zoom

Everything Happens for a Reason (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 10/06/2021
  • 5+ in stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
When Rachel's baby is stillborn, she becomes obsessed with the idea that saving a stranger's life months earlier is to blame. An unforgettable, heart-wrenching, warm and funny debut... 'Emotionally engaging, witty, clever and wonderfully satisfying' Daily Express 'A stunning debut ... a wise, moving, and thought-provoking novel' Susan Elliot Wright, author of The Flight of Cornelia Blackwood 'A heartbreaking, deeply moving and wonderfully witty tale, which celebrates all it means to be human' Isabelle Broom, author of The Getaway -------------- Mum-to-be Rachel did everything right, but it all went wrong. Her son, Luke, was stillborn and she finds herself on maternity leave without a baby, trying to make sense of her loss. When a misguided well-wisher tells her that "everything happens for a reason", she becomes obsessed with finding that reason, driven by grief and convinced that she is somehow to blame. She remembers that on the day she discovered her pregnancy, she'd stopped a man from jumping in front of a train, and she's now certain that saving his life cost her the life of her son. Desperate to find him, she enlists an unlikely ally in Lola, an Underground worker, and Lola's seven-year-old daughter, Josephine, and eventually tracks him down, with completely unexpected results... Both a heart-wrenchingly poignant portrait of grief and a gloriously uplifting and disarmingly funny story of a young woman's determination, Everything Happens for a Reason is a bittersweet, life- affirming read and, quite simply, unforgettable. -------------- 'A beautiful novel, bursting with raw emotional honesty and authenticity' Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife 'So affecting. Profoundly sad. Funny. I just loved it' Louise Beech, author of This Is How We Are Human 'Darkly funny, yet poignant and moving ... Rachel's quest to find out if everything happens for a reason is both heartbreaking and heartwarming' Anna Bell, author of In Case You Missed It 'Some books teach you, others touch your soul, then there are books like this one that bury deep and create a home in your heart' Emma-Claire Wilson, Glass House Magazine 'A triumph ... a book of hope and ambition and making sense of the world, a tale of acting spontaneously, living in the moment and throwing caution to the wind' Isabella May, author of Oh! What a Pavlova 'An incredibly important and beautifully written book. Bittersweet and brave, it will keep you both laughing and crying until the last page' Kate Ford, actress, Coronation Street 'The perfect mix of clever, funny and intensely moving' Cari Rosen, author of Secret Diary of a New Mum Aged 43 1/4 'A heart-wrenching, soul-lifting read about loss and redemption in unlikely places' Eve Smith, author of The Waiting Rooms 'Read it and weep but also, incredibly, find moments to laugh and to know there is life after death' Julia Hobsbawm, author of The Simplicity Principle 'Simultaneously devastating and hilarious' Clare Allan, author of Poppy Shakespeare 'A memorable, poetic read ... The writing reminded me of Eleanor Oliphant' Becky Fleetwood, author of the Chroma series 'Quirky yet insightful, bright yet wistful, amusing yet emotional ... full of contradictions that fuse into the most surprising, moving, and beautiful novel' LoveReading For fans of Jonas Jonasson, Matt Haig, Graeme Simsion and Rachel Joyce.

Publisher: Orenda Books
ISBN: 9781913193614
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Virgin Suicides
Added to basket
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Snow Country
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Book Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Heartbreaking and yet uplifting”

This is in many ways a hard book to review simply because it is not easy to sum up. It is the story of someone coming to terms with the loss of a child and whilst it is a book full of raw emotion, it manages not to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Different and innovative, with a raw honesty to the writing”

Everything happens for a reason. That's what Rachel is told when her baby is stillborn. But does it really? If so, what possible reason can there be for this terrible loss. Rachel clings onto the fact that on the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4
Emma b Books

“A moving, hopeful, and humorous, story of loss”

Luke was born “asleep” and Rachel writes him emails as she navigates her way through the following 12 months. A heart-wrenching story, with many laugh out loud funny moments.
As Rachel writes to her son, telling... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.