• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Everyone Lies - DI Kate Simms (Paperback)
  • Everyone Lies - DI Kate Simms (Paperback)
zoom

Everyone Lies - DI Kate Simms (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 07/11/2013
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

DI Kate Simms is on the fast track to nowhere. Five years ago she helped a colleague when she shouldn't have. She's been clawing her way back from a demotion ever since. Professor Nick Fennimore is a failed genetics student, successful gambler, betting agent, crime scene officer, chemistry graduate, toxicology specialist and one-time scientific advisor to the National Crime Faculty. He is the best there is, but ever since his wife and daughter disappeared he's been hiding away in Scotland, working as a forensics lecturer.

In Manchester, drug addicts are turning up dead and Simms' superior is only too pleased to hand the problem to her. Then a celebrity dies and the media gets interested. Another overdose victim shows up, but this time the woman has been systematically beaten and all identifying features removed. The evidence doesn't add up; Simms' superiors seem to be obstructing her investigation; and the one person she can't afford to associate with is the one man who can help: Fennimore.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472107572
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 362 g
Dimensions: 132 x 200 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This is thriller writing at its best: prose that's startling in its pace and clarity, characters who come to life immediately and the bonus of knowing that all the forensic details are entirely accurate. -- Ann Cleeves
A throat-clutcher from page one. Everyone Lies is a pulse pounding thriller, which weaves expertly between evil on the streets and the dark side of police department politics. A. D. Garrett has done for Manchester what The Wire did for Baltimore. And our central characters, Simms and Fennimore, are complex, compelling and just plain marvellous. -- Jeffery Deaver
Awesome...What A. D. Garrett doesn't understand about forensic science and its applications isn't worth knowing. Ditto characterisation, plot and pace. A sterling debut. -- Mo Hayder
A collaboration between a thriller writer and a forensic scientist produces a police procedural which promises well for the future of the partnership and provides a good read. * Bookbag *
A marriage made in crime fiction heaven. * CrimeFictionLover *
[An] outstanding collaborative debut, which balances the intricacies of forensics with the cerebral instincts of crime investigation. . . . The brisk plot never strays with its complex exploration of prostitutes and crime lords and its affecting look at Kate and Nick's complicated relationship. * Publishers Weekly *
'The backstory between Fennimore and Simms is tantalizingly glossed over, adding tension to the story, as readers attempt to work out the tension between the characters. This gritty British thriller will appeal to fans of Ken Bruen and Val McDermid. * Booklist *
The pseudonymous pair who write as Garrett skillfully weave just enough of the crime-solving partners' past and hints about a more hopeful future to add even more suspense to the fast-paced plot. * Kirkus Reviews *
Brilliantly melds a deep knowledge of forensic procedures with a riveting story. The subtle twists in Everyone Lies kept me guessing until the end. Fans of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell are going to love this book! -- D.J. McIntosh, Bestselling author of The Witch of Babylon.
Definitely worth a look if your tastes run to grittier crime fiction. * Raven Crime Reads *
Garrett's dialogue is taut and concise and real...Great stuff. * Books Monthly *
It is the combination of the delightfully drawn characters, the keen sense of place and a plotline that is at once more than credible, yet deeply disturbing, that really marks Everyone Lies as a highly polished, thoroughly recommended novel that will leave readers yearning for more of the same. * Tangled Web *
Everyone Lies is a tense and engrossing mixture of social realism and fast-paced thriller which is sure to be the start of an interesting and very enjoyable series. * Mean Streets *
Mrs romancrimeblogger wasn't impressed that I hid myself away for most of Saturday because I wouldn't stop reading, but it was worth it! I'd say the Murphy/Barclay partnership works well and I'll look out for the next one in the Simms/Fennimore series. If you're a fan of forensic science and investigative detail do read this book - you're in for a treat. * thecrimewarp *

You may also be interested in...

The Lying Game
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Mitford Murders
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Vengeance in Venice
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hanged Man
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Late Show
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
He Said/She Said
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Invisible Guardian
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Venetian Game
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Burial Hour
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Word Is Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.00
Hardback
Love Like Blood
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Dry
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A promising new series...”

It’s always a tricky proposition I imagine to undertake a crime, or indeed any kind of fiction novel with a dual writing partnership. In other books I have read with two authors there is usually a very noticeable... More

Hardback edition
14th July 2013
Helpful? Upvote 38

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.