Essex Dogs - Essex Dogs (Paperback)
  • Essex Dogs - Essex Dogs (Paperback)
zoom

Essex Dogs - Essex Dogs (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 480 Pages
Published: 06/07/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Best known for swashbuckling narrative history like Crusaders and Powers and Thrones, Jones delivers his debut historical novel with this page-turning account of a band of hardened British soldiers deep in enemy territory during the Hundred Years War.

Globally bestselling historian Dan Jones makes his historical fiction debut with Essex Dogs, the explosive first instalment in an epic new trilogy set during the Hundred Years War.

July 1346. Ten men land on the beaches of Normandy. They call themselves the Essex Dogs: an unruly platoon of archers and men-at-arms led by a battle-scarred captain whose best days are behind him. The fight for the throne of the largest kingdom in Western Europe has begun.

Heading ever deeper into enemy territory toward Crecy, this band of brothers knows they are off to fight a battle that will forge nations, and shape the very fabric of human lives. But first they must survive a bloody war in which rules are abandoned and chivalry itself is slaughtered.

Rooted in historical accuracy and told through an unforgettable cast, Essex Dogs delivers the stark reality of medieval war in the round - and shines light on the fighters and ordinary people caught in the storm.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781838937935
Number of pages: 480
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Oddly joyous – rolling action, fast-paced, a book that draws you in page by page. The way Dan Jones writes enemies reminds me of Cornwell at his best, turning up tension click by click.' - Conn Iggulden

Battle-bloody, brutal and perfectly pitched... Jones captures the fear and frenzy of the fight and the loyalty and kinship of the Dogs in this slaughterous, sweary, swaggering debut - Daily Mail

With a cast of unforgettable characters, written with irrepressible verve and historical accuracy, Dan Jones delivers a compelling novel that thrums with swordswinging energy - Simon Sebag Montefiore

A new champion has entered the front line of historical fiction to stand shoulder to shoulder with Bernard Cornwell... A full-throated charge onto the mediaeval battlefield, a rip-roaring adventure full of blood and guts, camaraderie and inventive curses - Jane Johnson

Horribly compelling... Only Dan Jones can carry you through blood, piss and vomit and leave you wanting more - Daisy Dunn

Vital, earthy, and heart-stopping... So deft and funny that you'd never guess this is Dan Jones' debut work of fiction - Suzannah Lipscomb

Few books manage to be as compelling on every level as Essex Dogs: it's adventure, history, and heart - Dana Schwartz

The battles that shaped Europe from the point of view of the soldiers... Searing - Kate Williams

A busy, urgent little masterpiece - Graham Hurley

Fascinating. Brutal. Real... Impossible to put down - Simon Turney

War. Looting. Junkies. Pintle-tugging. The English abroad. Dan Jones takes you to the year of Our Lord 1346 - Tibor Fischer

Essex Dogs is the first in a planned trilogy by the bestselling medieval historian Dan Jones. His mastery of his subject matter is obvious. The soldiers' lives are rather brilliantly recreated – the kit, the fighting, the boredom and discomfort. Jones is excellent on the battles, too, focusing on the violence and the panic - The Times

[Essex Dogs] is the first instalment of what promises to be an epic trilogy - History Revealed Magazine

The historical detail is totally authentic... Essex Dogs shows the total brutalilty of medieval warfare, but also the camaraderie of a troop of men who fight for each other and for England - Bishop's Stortford Independent

Visceral and powerful, the reality of medieval warfare leaping from every page, it's gripping storytelling at its best... With a cast of unforgettable characters, this is historian Dan Jones's first foray into fiction and it's terrific - Choice

With its unflinching emphasis on the blood and guts of 14th-century battle, Jones's debut is not for the squeamish, but it's an enthralling, character-filled read - Sunday Times

Historian Dan Jones plunges the reader right into the medieval battlefield in this riotous retelling of the epic Hundred Years War between England and France - Metro

Packed with historical insight, bringing alive not only the war, but the lives of the common soldiers... I can hardly wait for the next instalment - Historical Novel Society

'Superb... The plot races along and there’s huge insight into a band of brothers. Humour, archery, violence – and a fundamental decency underpinning all the rest.' - Conn Iggulden

Rooted in historical accuracy, and told through an earthy cast of archers, men-at-arms and misfits, Essex Dogs delivers the stark reality of medieval war in the round – and shines a light on ordinary people caught in the storm. - Mortimer Historical Society

'Vivid characterizations and a strain of black humor add to the pointed drama... Brutal, graphic, and gory, the battle scenes viscerally hurl the reader into the heat of 14th-century combat. It’s good to know these Dogs will howl again.' - Publishers Weekly starred review*

'On the whole a violent and bloody affair . . . [Reconceives] medieval military history as a swashbuckling Hollywood movie.' - New York Times Book Review

'An impeccably researched "you are there" novel with a real-time approach, Jones’ entertaining fiction debut moves episodically from encounter to life-threatening encounter... the book hums with black humor... An enjoyable romp through the darkest of ages.' - Kirkus Reviews starred review*

'A high-stakes, immersive war story... Highly recommended for fans of Bernard Cornwell or Ken Follett.' - Library Journal starred review*

Historian Dan Jones knows his stuff. You'll smell the sour wine and grin at the soldiers' rude humour... This razor-sharp motley crew... leap off the page and charge straight at you - The Sun

The Hundred Years' War with an amazingly contemporary feel... A cracking read - Richard Madeley, The Spectator

You may also be interested in...

The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Circe
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Pachinko
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Mythos
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Book Thief
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Wolf Hall
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Silence of the Girls
Added to basket
The Pillars of the Earth
Added to basket
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Thousand Ships
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Miniaturist
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Fingersmith
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Imperium
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Familiars
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
How We Disappeared
Added to basket

“Great stuff”

Dan Jones' first foray into novel-writing is a big success. He follows a small band of men attached to Edward III's invasion of France in 1346, culminating in the Battle of Crecy. The characterisation is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23
Vivienne O'Regan

“A powerful, meticulously detailed work of medieval military fiction”

“The Dogs hired their sword-and bows-arms to anyone who paid–in any sort of activity where brute force and sharp steel were needed. That summer the business was war.”

My thanks to Head of Zeus/Aries for an eARC via... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 21

“Another thrilling adventure from Dan Jones……”

Historian, writer, broadcaster, journalist and hugely likeable DAN JONES is back with another action-packed historical fiction thriller - “ESSEX DOGS” - The first in a planned trilogy following the fortunes of ten... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: