Essays (Hardback)
  • Essays (Hardback)
zoom

Essays (Hardback)

(author)
£20.00
Hardback 528 Pages / Published: 07/11/2019
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From the International Man Booker Prize-winning author of Can't and Won't and The End of the Story - a crystalline collection of literary essays for fans of Susan Sontag and Joan Didion

'She's a joy. There's no writer quite like her' Ali Smith


'Among my most favourite writers. Read her now!' A. M. Homes

The visionary, fearless Lydia Davis presents a dazzling collection of essays on reading and writing, exploring the full scope of possibility within existing forms of literature and considering how we might challenge and reinvent these forms.

Through Thomas Pynchon, Michel Leiris, Maurice Blanchot, Lucia Berlin, Joan Mitchell and others, he author considers her many creative influences. And, through these lenses, she returns to her own writing process, her relationship to language and the written word. Beautifully formed, thought-provoking, playful and illuminating, these pieces are a masterclass in reading and writing.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241371473
Number of pages: 528
Weight: 782 g
Dimensions: 205 x 138 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
a cornucopia of illuminating and timeless observations on literature, art, and the craft of writing. * Publisher's Weekly *
The unclassifiable writer and translator's collected nonfiction shows us a brilliant mind at work. * The New Republic *
the beloved American author reflects on reading and writing in typically funny, incisive and tender style. * Stylist *
Davis does for the essay what one of her subjects-Rimbaud-did for the prose poem: fires language with emotive, radiant wisdom. * Library Journal *
masterful, lucid collection . . . no single piece could capture the essence of this extraordinary writer . . . Read these essays: see everything around you in a clear, fresh light * New Statesman *

You may also be interested in...

Trick Mirror
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Vesper Flights
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Fascism and Democracy
Added to basket
A Ghost In The Throat
Added to basket
It's Not About the Burqa
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In The Kitchen
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Surfacing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Down and Out in Paris and London
Added to basket
A Swim in a Pond in the Rain
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Good Immigrant
Added to basket
How Do We Know We're Doing It Right?
Added to basket
I Feel Bad About My Neck
Added to basket
Landmarks
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
On Connection
Added to basket
£9.99
Hardback
Lost Cat
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Intimations
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.