Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Essays (Hardback)
  • Essays (Hardback)
zoom

Essays (Hardback)

(author)
£20.00
Hardback 528 Pages / Published: 07/11/2019
  • In stock online
  • Free UK delivery

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From the International Man Booker Prize-winning author of Can't and Won't and The End of the Story - a crystalline collection of literary essays for fans of Susan Sontag and Joan Didion

'She's a joy. There's no writer quite like her' Ali Smith

'Among my most favourite writers. Read her now!' A. M. Homes

The visionary, fearless Lydia Davis presents a dazzling collection of essays on reading and writing, exploring the full scope of possibility within existing forms of literature and considering how we might challenge and reinvent these forms.

Through Thomas Pynchon, Michel Leiris, Maurice Blanchot, Lucia Berlin, Joan Mitchell and others, he author considers her many creative influences. And, through these lenses, she returns to her own writing process, her relationship to language and the written word. Beautifully formed, thought-provoking, playful and illuminating, these pieces are a masterclass in reading and writing.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241371473
Number of pages: 528
Weight: 782 g
Dimensions: 205 x 138 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
a cornucopia of illuminating and timeless observations on literature, art, and the craft of writing. * Publisher's Weekly *
The unclassifiable writer and translator's collected nonfiction shows us a brilliant mind at work. * The New Republic *
the beloved American author reflects on reading and writing in typically funny, incisive and tender style. * Stylist *

You may also be interested in...

The Good Immigrant
Added to basket
Trick Mirror
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Tipping Point
Added to basket
The Dark Powers of Tolkien
Added to basket
Why I Write
Added to basket
£4.99
Paperback
The Hobbits of Tolkien
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Politics and the English Language
Added to basket
The Cost of Living
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Down and Out in Paris and London
Added to basket
Surfacing
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Mad, Bad, Dangerous to Know
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Road to Wigan Pier
Added to basket
Notes to Self
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Gifts of Reading
Added to basket
The Doors of Perception
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.