Eros the Bittersweet - Dalkey Archive Essentials (Paperback)
  • Eros the Bittersweet - Dalkey Archive Essentials (Paperback)
zoom

Eros the Bittersweet - Dalkey Archive Essentials (Paperback)

(author), (author of introduction)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.00
Paperback 190 Pages
Published: 22/09/2022
Notify me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order.

Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best nonfiction books of all time

A book about romantic love, Eros the Bittersweet is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her," Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

Epigrammatic, witty, ironic, and endlessly entertaining, Eros is an utterly original book.

Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
ISBN: 9781628973860
Number of pages: 190
Dimensions: 216 x 140 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"Anne Carson is a rare talent, brilliant and full of wit, passionate and also deeply moving."—Michael Ondaatje "What we learn from Eros the Bittersweet while being spun alive by its brilliance is that its author is a philosopher of much cunning and an agile reader, a scholar with a mind as fresh as a spring meadow, no dust anywhere on her."—Guy Davenport

You may also be interested in...

The Histories
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
If Not, Winter: Fragments Of Sappho
Added to basket
The Histories
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Poetics
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sir Gawain and The Green Knight
Added to basket
The Mabinogion
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Iliad
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
Classics: A Very Short Introduction
Added to basket
Metamorphoses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Mighty Dead
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Poetic Edda
Added to basket
The Complete Fables
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Gallic War
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Odyssey
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
Republic
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Eros the Bittersweet”

An insightful book, if you thought that it was impossible to philosophize matters of the heart then you are mistaken. Carson explains the meaning of Eros based on Greek mythology and poetry. This book is a must read,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: