• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The books you love, the emails you want
Opt in by 25 May or you'll stop hearing from us
REVIEW NOW
Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American Literature (Hardback)
  • Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American Literature (Hardback)
zoom

Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American Literature (Hardback)

(author)
£75.00
Hardback 224 Pages / Published: 01/09/2007
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

Enthusiast! is a polemical history of American literature told from the point of view of six of its major enthusiasts. Complaining that his age was 'retrospective', Emerson injected enthusiasm into American literature as a way of making it new. 'What,' he asked, 'is a man good for without enthusiasm? and what is enthusiasm but the daring of ruin for its object?' This book takes enthusiasm to be a defining feature of American literature, showing how successive major writers - Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, Frank O'Hara and James Schuyler - have modernized and re-modeled Emerson's founding sense of enthusiasm. The book presents the writer as enthusiast, showing how enthusiasm is fundamental to the composition and the circulation of literature. Enthusiasm, it is argued, is the way literary value is passed on. Starting with a brief history of enthusiasm from Plato to Kant and Emerson, the book features chapters on each of Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, O'Hara, and Schuyler. Each chapter presents an aspect of the writer as enthusiast, the book as a whole charting the changing sense of literary enthusiasm from Romanticism to the present day. Lucidly written and combatively argued, the book will appeal to readers of American Literature or Modern Poetry, and to all those interested in the circulation of literary work.

Publisher: Manchester University Press
ISBN: 9780719074288
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 476 g
Dimensions: 234 x 156 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Canterbury Tales
Added to basket
A Moveable Feast
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Birth of Tragedy
Added to basket
Wide Sargasso Sea
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Selected Poems of Sylvia Plath
Added to basket
Speak, Memory
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Writing Home
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Essays
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Iliad
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Three Theban Plays
Added to basket
Birthday Letters
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
How to Live
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
On Writing
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Selected Poems
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
How to Read a Book
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.