Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Last Christmas delivery dates
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 19th December 2nd Class | 20th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American Literature (Hardback)
  • Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American Literature (Hardback)
zoom

Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American Literature (Hardback)

(author)
£80.00
Hardback 224 Pages / Published: 01/09/2007
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Enthusiast! is a polemical history of American literature told from the point of view of six of its major enthusiasts. Complaining that his age was 'retrospective', Emerson injected enthusiasm into American literature as a way of making it new. 'What,' he asked, 'is a man good for without enthusiasm? and what is enthusiasm but the daring of ruin for its object?' This book takes enthusiasm to be a defining feature of American literature, showing how successive major writers - Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, Frank O'Hara and James Schuyler - have modernized and re-modeled Emerson's founding sense of enthusiasm. The book presents the writer as enthusiast, showing how enthusiasm is fundamental to the composition and the circulation of literature. Enthusiasm, it is argued, is the way literary value is passed on. Starting with a brief history of enthusiasm from Plato to Kant and Emerson, the book features chapters on each of Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, O'Hara, and Schuyler. Each chapter presents an aspect of the writer as enthusiast, the book as a whole charting the changing sense of literary enthusiasm from Romanticism to the present day. Lucidly written and combatively argued, the book will appeal to readers of American Literature or Modern Poetry, and to all those interested in the circulation of literary work.

Publisher: Manchester University Press
ISBN: 9780719074288
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 476 g
Dimensions: 234 x 156 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

Selected Poems of Sylvia Plath
Added to basket
The Woodlanders
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Nicholas Nickleby
Added to basket
The Mighty Dead
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Histories
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Under the Greenwood Tree
Added to basket
A Little History of Literature
Added to basket
A Moveable Feast
Added to basket
A Child's Christmas in Wales
Added to basket
How to Live
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
A Child's Christmas in Wales
Added to basket
Writing Home
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Iliad
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Essays
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
How The Irish Saved Civilization
Added to basket
The Three Theban Plays
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.