Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American Literature (Hardback)
  • Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American Literature (Hardback)
zoom

Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American Literature (Hardback)

(author)
£75.00
Hardback 224 Pages / Published: 01/09/2007
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Enthusiast! is a polemical history of American literature told from the point of view of six of its major enthusiasts. Complaining that his age was 'retrospective', Emerson injected enthusiasm into American literature as a way of making it new. 'What,' he asked, 'is a man good for without enthusiasm? and what is enthusiasm but the daring of ruin for its object?' This book takes enthusiasm to be a defining feature of American literature, showing how successive major writers - Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, Frank O'Hara and James Schuyler - have modernized and re-modeled Emerson's founding sense of enthusiasm. The book presents the writer as enthusiast, showing how enthusiasm is fundamental to the composition and the circulation of literature. Enthusiasm, it is argued, is the way literary value is passed on. Starting with a brief history of enthusiasm from Plato to Kant and Emerson, the book features chapters on each of Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, O'Hara, and Schuyler. Each chapter presents an aspect of the writer as enthusiast, the book as a whole charting the changing sense of literary enthusiasm from Romanticism to the present day. Lucidly written and combatively argued, the book will appeal to readers of American Literature or Modern Poetry, and to all those interested in the circulation of literary work.

Publisher: Manchester University Press
ISBN: 9780719074288
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 476 g
Dimensions: 234 x 156 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Iliad
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Three Theban Plays
Added to basket
The Odyssey
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Republic
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Why Read the Classics?
Added to basket
The Histories
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Wide Sargasso Sea
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Metamorphoses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Birthday Letters
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Mighty Dead
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Moveable Feast
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Collected Poems
Added to basket
£17.99
Paperback
Hamlet: The Oxford Shakespeare
Added to basket
Essays
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.