We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British (Paperback)
  • Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British (Paperback)

Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British (Paperback)

£9.99
Paperback Published: 07/06/2012
  • 10+ in stock

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop
From the bestselling author of "The English" comes "Empire", Jeremy Paxman's history of the British Empire accompanied by a flagship 5-part BBC TV series, for readers of Simon Schama and Andrew Marr. The influence of the British Empire is everywhere, from the very existence of the United Kingdom to the ethnic composition of our cities. It affects everything, from Prime Ministers' decisions to send troops to war to the adventurers we admire. From the sports we think we're good at to the architecture of our buildings; the way we travel to the way we trade; the hopeless losers we will on, and the food we hunger for, the empire is never very far away. In this acute and witty analysis, Jeremy Paxman goes to the very heart of empire. As he describes the selection process for colonial officers ('intended to weed out the cad, the feeble and the too clever') the importance of sport, the sweating domestic life of the colonial officer's wife ('the challenge with cooking meat was "to grasp the fleeting moment between toughness and putrefaction when the joint may possibly prove eatable"') and the crazed end for General Gordon of Khartoum, Paxman brings brilliantly to life the tragedy and comedy of Empire and reveals its profound and lasting effect on our nation and ourselves. "Paxman is witty, incisive, acerbic and opinionated...In short, he carries the whole thing off with panache bordering on effrontery". (Piers Brendon, "Sunday Times"). "Paxman is a magnificent historian, and "Empire" may be remembered as his finest work". ("Independent on Sunday"). Jeremy Paxman was born in Yorkshire and educated at Cambridge. He is an award-winning journalist who spent ten years reporting from overseas, notably for "Panorama". He is the author of five books including "The English". He is the presenter of "Newsnight" and "University Challenge" and has presented BBC documentaries on various subjects including Victorian art and Wilfred Owen.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780670919598

You may also be interested in...

“Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British”

This book is a great read a must buy.

18th January 2013
Helpful? Upvote 0 Downvote 0

Your review has been submitted successfully.

View your review