Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British (Paperback)
  • Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British (Paperback)
zoom

Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 07/06/2012
  • 5+ in stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From the bestselling author of The English comes Empire, Jeremy Paxman's history of the British Empire accompanied by a flagship 5-part BBC TV series, for readers of Simon Schama and Andrew Marr.

The influence of the British Empire is everywhere, from the very existence of the United Kingdom to the ethnic composition of our cities. It affects everything, from Prime Ministers' decisions to send troops to war to the adventurers we admire. From the sports we think we're good at to the architecture of our buildings; the way we travel to the way we trade; the hopeless losers we will on, and the food we hunger for, the empire is never very far away.

In this acute and witty analysis, Jeremy Paxman goes to the very heart of empire. As he describes the selection process for colonial officers ('intended to weed out the cad, the feeble and the too clever') the importance of sport, the sweating domestic life of the colonial officer's wife ('the challenge with cooking meat was "to grasp the fleeting moment between toughness and putrefaction when the joint may possibly prove eatable"') and the crazed end for General Gordon of Khartoum, Paxman brings brilliantly to life the tragedy and comedy of Empire and reveals its profound and lasting effect on our nation and ourselves.

'Paxman is witty, incisive, acerbic and opinionated . . . In short, he carries the whole thing off with panache bordering on effrontery' Piers Brendon, Sunday Times

'Paxman is a magnificent historian, and Empire may be remembered as his finest work' Independent on Sunday

Jeremy Paxman was born in Yorkshire and educated at Cambridge. He is an award-winning journalist who spent ten years reporting from overseas, notably for Panorama. He is the author of five books including The English. He is the presenter of Newsnight and University Challenge and has presented BBC documentaries on various subjects including Victorian art and Wilfred Owen.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780670919598
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 255 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm

You may also be interested in...

Liberty's Exiles
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Unfinished Empire
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Culture and Imperialism
Added to basket
The Golden Age
Added to basket
£19.99
Paperback
Ghosts of Empire
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
Freedom at Midnight
Added to basket
Rise And Fall Of The British Empire
Added to basket
The Making of Europe
Added to basket
The Washing Of The Spears
Added to basket
The Scramble For Africa
Added to basket
Orientalism
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
To the Ends of the Earth
Added to basket
Ten Cities that Made an Empire
Added to basket
Lords of the Horizons
Added to basket

“Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British”

This book is a great read a must buy.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 64

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.