Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Emerald Labyrinth: A Scientist's Adventures in the Jungles of the Congo (Paperback)
  • Emerald Labyrinth: A Scientist's Adventures in the Jungles of the Congo (Paperback)
zoom

Emerald Labyrinth: A Scientist's Adventures in the Jungles of the Congo (Paperback)

(author)
£22.00
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 19/12/2017
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Emerald Labyrinth is a scientist and adventurer's chronicle of years exploring the rainforests of sub-Saharan Africa. The richly varied habitats of the Democratic Republic of the Congo offer a wealth of animal, plant, chemical, and medical discoveries. But the country also has a deeply troubled colonial past and a complicated political present. Author Eli Greenbaum is a leading expert in sub-Saharan herpetology-snakes, lizards, and frogs-who brings a sense of wonder to the question of how science works in the twenty-first century. Along the way he comes face to face with spitting cobras, silverback mountain gorillas, wild elephants, and the teenaged armies of AK-47-toting fighters engaged in the continent's longest-running war. As a bellwether of the climate and biodiversity crises now facing the planet, the Congo holds the key to our planet's future. Writing in the tradition of books like The Lost City of Z, Greenbaum seeks out the creatures struggling to survive in a war-torn, environmentally threatened country. Emerald Labyrinth is an extraordinary book about the enormous challenges and hard-won satisfactions of doing science in one of the least known, least hospitable places on earth.

Publisher: University Press of New England
ISBN: 9781512600971
Number of pages: 336
Dimensions: 229 x 152 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A valuable record of conflict and conservation at a time of climate change and population pressures." * International Journal of Science *
It should be required reading for all ecologists, missionaries, politicians, and decision-makers who journey to tropical Africa, especially the Congo." * Bioscience *
Meticulously researched, fast-paced and beautifully illustrated with lots of photographs, this book seamlessly blends scientific discovery, memoir and travelogue with the historical context of the DRC's almost legendary corruption. You may not be able to put down this inspirational page-turner until you've finished it. * Forbes 10 Best Biology Books of 2017 *

You may also be interested in...

Claxton
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Silent Spring
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Back from the Brink
Added to basket
The Diversity of Life
Added to basket
Last Chance To See
Added to basket
Feral
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Ugly Animals
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
White Beech
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Unofficial Countryside
Added to basket
The Sea Around Us
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Salar the Salmon
Added to basket
Gorillas in the Mist
Added to basket
How to Read the Landscape
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.