Ego Mechanisms of Defense: A Guide for Clinicians and Researchers (Hardback)
  • Ego Mechanisms of Defense: A Guide for Clinicians and Researchers (Hardback)
zoom

Ego Mechanisms of Defense: A Guide for Clinicians and Researchers (Hardback)

(author)
£72.00
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 31/07/1992
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Not since Anna Freud's 1937 book, The Ego and the Mechanisms of Defense, has any one volume explored this topic as fully as Ego Mechanisms of Defense by George E. Vaillant. By summarizing the latest empirical studies, proposing a universal language of defense mechanisms, and demonstrating how various assessment methods can be used in diagnosis, case formulation, and treatment, Dr. Vaillant and an interdisciplinary group of contributors provide the groundwork for clinical practice as well as future research in the field.

Publisher: American Psychiatric Association Publishing
ISBN: 9780880484046
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 680 g
Dimensions: 229 x 150 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"This book is at once thorough, creative, and enticing... This book is quite an important offering. Clinicians can benefit from the wisdom imparted in the chapter on clinical management of immature defenses, researchers from the summaries of the empirical studies, and educators from the whole work as a guide to thinking about patients in a most humane and empirically supported way."-- "American Journal of Psychiatry"


"Dr. George Vaillant is, in the tradition of Anna Freud and Elvin Semrad, an international authority in empirical research on the nature of defense mechanisms and their elaboration into personality traits."-- "Hospital and Community Psychiatry"


"In this clearly conceptualized, useful, and well-written book, George Vaillant discusses defense mechanisms from both a clinical and a research perspective."-- "Social Work: Journal of the National Association of Social Workers"

You may also be interested in...

The Organized Mind
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Idiot Brain
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Thinking, Fast and Slow
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Emotional Intelligence
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Language of Kindness
Added to basket
Inferior
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
How to Be Human
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Blueprint
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Why We Sleep
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Battle Scars
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Other Minds
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
Talking with Female Serial Killers
Added to basket
The River of Consciousness
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Perils of Perception
Added to basket
Selfie
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Science of Meditation
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.