Edie and the Box of Flits (Edie and the Flits 1) - Edie and the Flits (Paperback)
  • Edie and the Box of Flits (Edie and the Flits 1) - Edie and the Flits (Paperback)
zoom

Edie and the Box of Flits (Edie and the Flits 1) - Edie and the Flits (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 288 Pages
Published: 22/07/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
A modern classic set against the backdrop of the London Underground, this is a timeless story of friendship, family and noticing the little things in life. When eleven-year-old Edie Winter finds a mysterious box on the London Underground, she goes straight to take it to her father, an employee of the London Underground Lost Property Office. But on her way, Edie is amazed to discover that the box is home to a family of Flits - tiny winged people. And these Flits - Impy, Speckle and Nid - need Edie's help. Not only do they need supplies (rice crispies, sugar sprinkles, digestive biscuits and raisins) and someone to look after them, but their brother Jot has run away and they need Edie's help to find him. With delightful black-and-white illustrations by animator, cartoonist and illustrator Joe Berger. Perfect for fans of THE BORROWERS, HARKLIGHTS and MRS PEPPERPOT.

Publisher: Bonnier Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781848129108
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 213 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A charming story in the tradition of The Borrowers about little flying people, visible to only children, who live in the Underground and are found by a rather unhappy 11 year-old girl. * Sunday Times *
A fresh new tale. [...] Edie is a lovely character [...] it is great to see a female lead driving the story on and we should never underestimate the value of children seeing girls in this way. An enjoyable read that teaches us that looking closer can lead to adventures galore. -- North East Teacher * The Great British Book Worm *
Readers will recognise some of the local landmarks featuring in a new children's book. Alexandra Park resident Kate Wilkinson has written Edie and the Box of Flits, with illustrations by Joe Berger. The plot follows Edie who lives behind Alexandra Palace and whose dad runs the lost property office for London Transport . She finds a box on a seat on the Piccadilly Line and discovers inside a family of thumb-sized people. Kate said: "I used to spend hours sitting on a bench at Highbury and Islington station waiting for my Overground connection and watching the busy and very savvy mice on the platforms hoovering up crumbs and rubbish. "It made me think about parallel worlds in the tunnels and ghost stations and it inspired me to write this book." As well as discovering some of north London's hidden gems, such as the wilderness station at Highgate and other exciting "ghost places and secret corners", the author hopes the book will resonate with young readers. "It's all about when your childhood is changing into 'teen-hood' and what happens to your friends, your imagination, and the games you used to play in the playground," she said. -- Maryam Zakir-Hussain * Ham High *
Lost property offices are well known for their strange assortment of odds and ends... but no one in the world would expect to find a box full of tiny people with wings! Young imaginations are destined to take flight when they tuck into this magical box of tricks from former BBC Radio children's writer Kate Wilkinson as she unleashes a thrilling story with all the vibes and effervescence of Mary Norton's classic 1952 fantasy, The Borrowers. Edie and the Box of Flits - which comes with animator, cartoonist and artist Joe Berger's brilliantly atmospheric illustrations - stars eleven-year-old Edie Winter and her adventures when she discovers the amazing winged people who can only be seen by children. Edie loves going to London Transport's Lost Property Office. Her dad works there and it's always full of unexpected things. But when a mysterious box is left on a seat on the London Underground, Edie is amazed to discover that it's home to a family of Flits... tiny, thumb-sized winged people. And Impy, Speckle and Nid are desperately in need of Edie's friendship and help. Not only are they short of supplies (rice crispies, sugar sprinkles, digestive biscuits and raisins) and someone to look after them, but their brother Jot has run away and they will need Edie's help to find him. Set against the backdrop of London and its Underground network, Wilkinson's action-packed and heartwarming story about friendship and family reminds us all to notice the little things in life and to treasure each other, however big or small we might be. -- Pam Norfolk * The Gazette *

You may also be interested in...

Skulduggery Pleasant
Added to basket
The Girl of Ink & Stars
Added to basket
How to Train Your Dragon
Added to basket
Daughter of the Deep
Added to basket
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Added to basket
The Bad Beginning
Added to basket
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Adam Wins The Internet
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Howl's Moving Castle
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
My Neighbor Totoro: The Novel
Added to basket
The Book of Stolen Dreams
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket

“An enchanting new classic”

This book really did enchant me from beginning to end. I read it as I wanted to see what it was like before giving it to a young friend, and it is really brilliant. Beautifully written with nuanced characterisation... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A terrific read”

It's a captivating story, beautifully written and illustrated, and it moves at a pace that kept me thoroughly engaged from start to finish. This is a book that young readers will want to read and re-read.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A classic”

My 12 year old adored this book, I’ve never seen her so engrossed. Beautifully written with gorgeous illustrations and cover, perfect for pre teens.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.