Edge of the Grave - Jimmy Dreghorn series (Paperback)
  • Edge of the Grave - Jimmy Dreghorn series (Paperback)
zoom

Edge of the Grave - Jimmy Dreghorn series (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 02/09/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

When an influential shipbuilder is found with his throat slit in the River Clyde, Inspector James Dreghorn must look for answers in the dark and murky underworld of 1930s Glasgow in this chilling slice of historical crime.

Waterstones Scottish Book of the Month for September 2021

Shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger 2022

Winner of the Bloody Scotland Scottish Crime Debut of the Year 2021

Shortlisted for The Bloody Scotland Debut of the Year 2021

Glasgow, 1932. When the son-in-law of one of the city's wealthiest shipbuilders is found floating in the River Clyde with his throat cut, it falls to Inspector Jimmy Dreghorn to lead the murder case - despite sharing a troubled history with the victim's widow, Isla Lockhart.

From the flying fists and flashing blades of Glasgow's gangland underworld, to the backstabbing upper echelons of government and big business, Dreghorn and his partner 'Bonnie' Archie McDaid will have to dig deep into Glasgow society to find out who wanted the man dead and why.

All the while, a sadistic murderer stalks the post-war city leaving a trail of dead bodies in their wake. As the case deepens, will Dreghorn find the killer - or lose his own life in the process?

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison is a dark historical crime novel set in Glasgow, 1932. A city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs. For fans of William McIlvanney's Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529054033
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 296 g
Dimensions: 197 x 131 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

I’ve been waiting years to read a truly gripping historical crime novel set in Glasgow. That wait is over. Edge of the Grave is astounding. Tense, absorbing and dripping with gallus Glasgow humour, this book is absolutely wonderful - Abir Mukherjee, bestselling author of the Wyndham & Banerjee series

A magnificent and enthralling portrait of a dark and dangerous city and the men and women who live and die in it. I can’t wait to spend some more time with Jimmy Dreghorn and Archie McDaid. Robbie Morrison has produced an astounding debut - Mark Billingham

A mesmerizing debut – raw, brutally violent but immensely human. Early gangland Glasgow with the gloss razored off - Peter James, number one bestselling author of the DS Roy Grace series

Robbie Morrison serves up a delicious slice of 30s gangster noir set in the grim and greasy, sodden and savage streets of Glasgow when it was the Empire's Second City. Peaky Blinders meets William McIlvanney in this rollocking riveting read - Adrian McKinty, bestselling author of The Chain

A Glaswegian version of Peaky Blinders, with razor gangs brawling in the street and festering family secrets . . . it's a dark and powerful story - Sunday Times

A hugely impressive debut - Evening Standard

Wonderfully gritty, violent and nasty in all the right ways - James Oswald, bestselling author of the Inspector McLean series

The atmosphere Morrison conjures is so captivating it's hard to believe this is his debut crime novel . . . You should grab Edge of the Grave at the soonest opportunity. This is without doubt the most evocative and engaging Scottish crime novel we've come across in a very long time - Crime Fiction Lover

Brilliant - The Times

Meticulously researched and dripping with violence, written with brutal panache - Mary Paulson-Ellis, author of Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year, The Other Mrs Walker

Sharp and lethal as a cut-throat razor. Deeply researched, with strong characterisation and a fluent narrative, Robbie Morrison’s first novel is a book to savour - John Harvey, bestselling author of the Charlie Resnick novels

1930s Glasgow portrayed in all its ragged glory - Alan Parks

Robbie Morrison really is a breath of fresh creative air in crime fiction. Edge of the Grave is a stunning debut: razor sharp prose and a superbly crafted sense of place and time. A great Glaswegian page-turner: I could smell the smog and feel the grit throughout - Craig Russell, author of the LENNOX series

The dark heart of 1930s gangland Glasgow is brought back to vivid, violent life in Robbie Morrison's brilliant first novel. Fast moving and evocative, the prose cuts like a razor, straight through to the heart - Martyn Waites

Fantastic historical crime thriller set in 1930s Glasgow with a great detective duo and loads of brilliant period detail — poverty, wealth, gangs, religion and so much more - Amer Anwar

Powerful and moving . . . Morrison's portrait of Glasgow and its denizens – both the vicious and the virtuous – is superb - Literary Review

This deftly plotted novel is a more than worthy successor to William McIlvanney’s Laidlaw novels: the title is a homage to them. I am very glad that this book is the first in a projected series - Historical Novel Society

A highly evocative novel with a strong sense of place and Morrison brings to dark life this time period in an engaging and mesmerizing way. As Morrison grows with each novel, he will indeed be a force to be reckoned with - Crimesquad.com

An historical tour de force along with a brilliant plot - Globe and Mail

You may also be interested in...

The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Munich Wolf
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Square of Sevens
Added to basket
The Shadows of London
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bookseller of Inverness
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Alchemy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Maiden
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Winter List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Very Lively Murder
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
Cast a Cold Eye
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Partisan
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Revels
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Before the Fact
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Puzzle Wood
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback

“Tautly plotted”

What a fantastic debut. Tautly plotted with an evocative sense of time and place, this deserves to be absolutely huge. DI Dreghorn is a rare creature, a Catholic policeman in Glasgow at the start of the 1930s. The... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24

“Graphic Violence but Gripping Read!”

Religious sectarianism has been rife in Scotland for centuries, and the centre of it all was in Glasgow.
The Glasgow gangs of the 1920s and 1930s were widely viewed as fighting gangs rather than as criminal gangs in... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

“One of the years top reads”

Welcome to the world of Detective Inspector Dreghorn and Detective Seargeant McDaid as they investigate the murder of Charles Geddes part of one of Glasgows richest families.

This is an exhilarating Police thriller... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: