Edge of the Grave: Signed Edition - Jimmy Dreghorn series (Hardback)
  • Edge of the Grave: Signed Edition - Jimmy Dreghorn series (Hardback)
zoom

Edge of the Grave: Signed Edition - Jimmy Dreghorn series (Hardback)

(author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99 £12.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 04/03/2021
  • Save £2.00
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

When an influential shipbuilder is found with his throat slit in the River Clyde, Inspector James Dreghorn must look for answers in the dark and murky underworld of 1930s Glasgow in this chilling slice of historical crime.

Signed Edition

A standard edition is available here.

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison is a dark historical crime novel set in Glasgow, 1932. A city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs. For fans of William McIlvanney's Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr.

When Charles Geddes, son-in-law of one of the city's wealthiest shipbuilders, is found floating in the River Clyde with his throat cut, his beautiful widow Isla Lockhart asks for Inspector James Dreghorn to lead the murder case.

Dreghorn has a troubled history with the powerful Lockhart family that stretches back to before the First World War and is reluctant to become involved. But facing pressure from his superiors, he has no choice in the matter.

The investigation takes him and his partner 'Bonnie' Archie McDaid from the flying fists and flashing blades of the Glasgow underworld to the backstabbing upper echelons of government and big business in order to find out who wanted Charles Geddes dead and why. As the case deepens, the pair will put their lives on the line in the pursuit of a sadistic killer who is ready to strike again ...

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 2928377051136
Number of pages: 416
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A mesmerizing debut - raw, brutally violent but immensely human. Early gangland Glasgow with the gloss razored off' - Peter James

'A magnificent and enthralling portrait of a dark and dangerous city and the men and women who live and die in it. I can't wait to spend some more time with Jimmy Dreghorn and Archie McDaid. Robbie Morrison has produced an astounding debut' - Mark Billingham

'Robbie Morrison serves up a delicious slice of 30s gangster noir set in the grim and greasy, sodden and savage streets of Glasgow when it was the Empire's Second City. Peaky Blinders meets William McIlvanney in this rollocking riveting read' - Adrian McKinty

'Wonderfully gritty, violent and nasty in all the right ways' - James Oswald

You may also be interested in...

Nothing Ventured
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
The Way of All Flesh
Added to basket
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
The Fire Court
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
The Art of Dying
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Killings at Kingfisher Hill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The King's Evil
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Axeman's Jazz
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Graphic Violence but Gripping Read!”

Religious sectarianism has been rife in Scotland for centuries, and the centre of it all was in Glasgow.
The Glasgow gangs of the 1920s and 1930s were widely viewed as fighting gangs rather than as criminal gangs in... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Tautly plotted”

What a fantastic debut. Tautly plotted with an evocative sense of time and place, this deserves to be absolutely huge. DI Dreghorn is a rare creature, a Catholic policeman in Glasgow at the start of the 1930s. The... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“One of the years top reads”

Welcome to the world of Detective Inspector Dreghorn and Detective Seargeant McDaid as they investigate the murder of Charles Geddes part of one of Glasgows richest families.

This is an exhilarating Police thriller... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.