Dying In The Wool: Book 1 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)
  • Dying In The Wool: Book 1 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)
zoom

Dying In The Wool: Book 1 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries - Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 01/10/2009
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket

The first mystery in the bestselling Kate Shackleton crime series! A Golden Age murder mystery set in 1920s Yorkshire, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Verity Bright.
Take one quiet Yorkshire Village, add a measure of mystery, a sprinkling of scandal and Kate Shackleton - amateur sleuth extraordinaire!

Bridgestead is a quiet village: a babbling brook, rolling hills and a working mill at its heart. Pretty and remote, nothing exceptional happens, except for the day when Joshua Braithwaite, goes missing in dramatic circumstances, never to be heard of again.

Now Joshua's daughter is getting married and wants one last attempt at finding her father. Has he run off with his mistress, or was he murdered for his mounting coffers?

Kate Shackleton has always loved solving puzzles. So who better to get to the bottom of Joshua's mysterious disappearance? But as Kate taps into the lives of the Bridgestead dwellers, she opens cracks that some would kill to keep closed . . .

Praise for Frances Brody:

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' DAILY MAIL

'Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' ANN CLEEVES

'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' ANN GRANGER

'Delightful' PEOPLE'S FRIEND

'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT BOOK REVIEWS

'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences' LITERARY REVIEW

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780749941871
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 250 g
Dimensions: 199 x 131 x 24 mm

You may also be interested in...

Dream Town
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Miss Aldridge Regrets
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
Blue Water
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Clockwork Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Booth
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Birdcage
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Key In The Lock
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Trial of Lotta Rae
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and the Conjuror
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Axeman's Jazz
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback

“Mystery at' mill”

Kate Shackleton, war widow & amateur sleuth, is asked by a friend from her VAD days to find her father who has gone missing in dramatic circumstances. There are only three problems: the events happened in August... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 61
Penelope Bullock at Lancaster

“Classically cosy crime.”

A wonderfully written classic crime novel, quintessentially english packed with wonderful characters, intriguing mysteries and enough twists and turns to keep you guessing. Perfect for anyone who like their crime... More

“Good”

Introducing Kate shackleton in a good, well written mystery. I enjoyed the book. The characters are great and I like the 1920's setting. All of Kate's scenes are written first person but I thought it was... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.