Dunkirk: The Epic Story of History's Most Extraordinary Evacuation (Paperback)
  • Dunkirk: The Epic Story of History's Most Extraordinary Evacuation (Paperback)
zoom

Dunkirk: The Epic Story of History's Most Extraordinary Evacuation (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 21/10/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

How the miracle on the beaches saved a nation. A gripping account of one of the most famous episodes of the Second World War

In May 1940 British and Allied troops on mainland Europe were in a perilous situation: cut off and surrounded, at the conclusion of the bloody Battle of France they faced complete annihilation. It would be a devastating blow, handing Europe to the Nazis.

But over a few frantic days, the greatest evacuation in history managed to salvage hope, saving the total destruction of the army and hundreds of thousands of soldiers lives. It was a pivotal and defining moment in the war, one Churchill described as a 'miracle' in his 'we shall fight them on the beaches' speech.

Bestselling author John Harris describes in vivid detail how the evacuation developed on a day-by-day basis, and destroys more than one myth associated with Dunkirk. Packed with authentic atmosphere and first-hand recollections, the retreat and the desperate lifting of the weary British expeditionary force is seen in its tragic but spirited entirety, an epic of courage and confusion without parallel.

Perfect for readers of James Holland and Guy Walters.


Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781800325616
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 18 mm

You may also be interested in...

Operation Pedestal
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Alice's Book
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Operation Mincemeat
Added to basket
Aftermath
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Crew
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Checkmate in Berlin
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Spitfire
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lily's Promise
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Greatest Raid
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Agent Sonya
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lost Cafe Schindler
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Operation Mincemeat
Added to basket
Burning Steel
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Barbarossa
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Sicily '43
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.