• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Dumplin' (Paperback)
  • Dumplin' (Paperback)
zoom

Dumplin' (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 04/05/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

This beloved novel, a #1 New York Times bestseller, will soon be a major motion picture starring Danielle Macdonald and Jennifer Aniston.

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine-self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson-from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary.

With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine-Dumplin' is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed "Dumplin'" by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . . until Will takes a job at Harpy's, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn't surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant-along with several other unlikely candidates-to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does.

Along the way, she'll shock the hell out of Clover City-and maybe herself most of all.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062327192
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 286 g
Dimensions: 203 x 135 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Will's singular voice compels readers to think about all that goes into building-and destroying-self-esteem...Splendid" -- Booklist (starred review)
"I'm obsessed with this book. Wickedly funny, heartbreakingly real, full of characters to love and cheer for. DUMPLIN' is such a star." -- Katie Cotugno, author of How to Love and 99 Days
"DUMPLIN' should be required reading for anyone who has ever felt even slightly uncomfortable in his or her skin. Julie Murphy's star continues to shine with this groundbreaking, poignant story that will surely change lives." -- John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Noggin and Where Things Come Back
"Murphy...successfully makes every piece of the story...count, weaving them together to create a harmonious, humorous, and thought-provoking whole." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"[A] richly enjoyable novel...a clever and funny book to please lovers of thoughtful romance and secret pageant fans." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"Genuine, romantic, and with a dash of Texan charm, this is a novel that celebrates being who you are while also acknowledging that it's incredibly difficult to do." -- The Horn Book
"Portrays and challenges sterotypes about beauty pageants, size issues, and women's concerns...Powerful." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "Honest and unflinching, this is a compelling story of one teen's struggle with cancer, love, and living. A worthwhile addition." -- School Library Journal
Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "Readers will turn the last page wanting to know where the next chapter leads." -- Kirkus Reviews
Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "Alice and Harvey's relationship is raw, honest, moving, and unapologetic in its depiction of their individual, and collective, pain." -- Booklist
Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "Julie Murphy weaves together a tender and funny tale of love, friendship, heartache, and redemption. SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY explodes with brutal honesty, brilliant wit, and unflinching heart." -- John Corey Whaley, winner of the Michael L. Printz Award for WHERE THINGS COME BACK
Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "Julie Murphy's SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY is a funny, heartfelt, honest look at the beauty and the risk of getting a second chance. An inspiring novel about all the things worth living for. I adored this debut!" -- Siobhan Vivian, author of The List
Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "A funny and touching novel about a strong-willed heroine who finds facing death simple, but facing life heart-wrenchingly complicated. A real original." -- Jennifer Echols, author of GOING TOO FAR
Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "A tale of unlikely romance, impossible obstacles, and mortality, this book is a must-read."- -- Teen Vogue
Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "It's equal parts fun, cringe-worthy, and totally fearless!" -- Seventeen Magazine
Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "An unexpected twist on the typical cancer story." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

You may also be interested in...

13 Minutes
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Hazel Wood
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Starfish
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Love Simon
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
INK
Added to basket
INK
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
The Upside of Unrequited
Added to basket
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
All the Bright Places
Added to basket
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Mortal Engines
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Thirteen Reasons Why
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Turtles All the Way Down
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Packed with a big story and a big heart”

Willowdean Dickson's mum is a former beauty queen in a small town in Texas where the annual Miss Teen Blue Bonnet pageant is a HUGE deal. The beauty contents takes over every nook and cranny of the town once a... More

Hardback edition
9th April 2016
Helpful? Upvote 65
Lee Farnell at Birmingham

“Disapointing.”

This book held so much potential. The premise sounded fantastic and after hearing so many rave reviews, I wanted to get straight into the book. Unfortunately, it left a lot to be desired.

Reality, I didn't... More

Hardback edition
1st February 2016
Helpful? Upvote 42
Emma - Edinburgh Fort Kinnaird

“Overhyped = disappointed ”

UGH! I'm so mad because I had SUCH high hopes about this book!!

This book has reminded me why I avoid reading super-hyped books that I'm not interested in from the synopsis alone!

I had heard so much about... More

Hardback edition
28th January 2016
Helpful? Upvote 32

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.