Doubling Back: Ten Paths Trodden in Memory (Paperback)
  • Doubling Back: Ten Paths Trodden in Memory (Paperback)
zoom

Doubling Back: Ten Paths Trodden in Memory (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 02/09/2015
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Doubling Back is a fascinating and moving account of walking in the footsteps of others. In 1952 Linda Cracknell's father embarked on a hike through the Swiss Alps. Fifty years later Linda retraces that fateful journey, following the trail of the man she barely knew. This collection of walking tales takes its theme from that pilgrimage. The walks trace the contours of history, following writers, relations and retreading ways across mountains, valleys and coasts formerly trodden by drovers, saints and adventurers. Each walk is about the reaffirming of memories, beliefs and emotions, and especially of the connection that one can have with the past through particular places. This book celebrates life, family, friendship and walking through landscapes richly textured with stories. Doubling Back is a masterwork of travel writing in the vein of Robert Macfarlane and Roger Deakin, lyrical, poignant, and with stunning descriptions of the landscapes Linda Cracknell leads us through.

Publisher: Freight Books
ISBN: 9781910449301
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 299 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Secret Barrister
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Damaged Goods
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
Good Night Stories For Rebel Girls 2
Added to basket
Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls
Added to basket
A Life of My Own
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
This is Going to Hurt
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Calypso
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Poverty Safari
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Reasons to Stay Alive
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death
Added to basket
Stories for Boys Who Dare to be Different
Added to basket
Notes on a Nervous Planet
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Ma'am Darling
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Everything I Know About Love
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
First Man In
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
How Not To Be a Boy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.