Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Don't Say a Word, Mama / No Digas Nada, Mama (Paperback)
  • Don't Say a Word, Mama / No Digas Nada, Mama (Paperback)
zoom

Don't Say a Word, Mama / No Digas Nada, Mama (Paperback)

(author), (artist)
£6.99
Paperback 32 Pages / Published: 10/10/2013
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

Mam says she has the best daughters in the world. The two women live near their mother--Rosa with her husband and children, Blanca by herself. They both have flourishing gardens. Rosa and Blanca are so generous and kind and thoughtful--well, everyone, including Mam , ends up with too much corn, tomatoes, and red hot chiles! It's crazy! It's also Joe Hayes at his finest, telling one of those stories young kids love, full of mishaps, surprise endings, and happy mommas! In fact, one seven-year old--after hearing Joe tell Don't Say a Word, Mam !--came home and told her mother, "I heard a story today that I think changed my life!" That's a pretty fantastic endorsement!

2014 Honor Book, Patterson Prize for Books for Young People

Joe Hayes has been enchanting listeners and readers alike for over thirty years. His books have received many awards including two Land of Enchantment Children's Book Awards and an Aesop Accolade Award. His books have also been on the Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List three times. Ghost Fever won the Texas Bluebonnet Award for 2006-2007.

Esau Andrade Valencia comes from a family of folk artists. He is increasingly being recognized as a master artist in the tradition of Diego Rivera and Rufino Tamayo. His paintings are included in the collection of the Museum of Latin American Art in Long Beach, California, as well as in the Downey Museum of Art in Downey, California.


Publisher: Cinco Puntos Press,U.S.
ISBN: 9781935955450
Number of pages: 32
Weight: 170 g
Dimensions: 279 x 216 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
STARRED REVIEW. "A sweet family tale that never turns saccharine ... Esau Andrade Valencia contributes highly saturated paintings that combine a folk aesthetic with magical realism ... This book overflows with affection--and you can never have too much of that."--Kirkus Reviews

"Hayes balances humor with sentiment, and abundance with a concern for privation in a way that imbues the notion of harvest with a sense of real value ... Perfect for readers of either language, or for language learners."--The New York Times

"A funny, affectionate tale of two sisters who let their mother in on their secret gift-giving mission ... This bilingual tale of sisterly generosity by master storyteller Joe Hayes (Ghost Fever) brims with humor and love, while Esau Andrade Valencia's Mexican folk art matches the siblings' affection and playfulness ... Author and artist celebrate family and abundance in a story that will be a favorite read-aloud at harvest time or anytime."--Shelf Awareness

"Children will enjoy the back and forth and will laugh at Mam 's predicament ... Culturally relevant in its depiction of Latina characters, the book makes an excellent read-aloud to a broad audience. Hayes's many fans will enjoy this story as will those looking for tales about families and goodwill among siblings."--School Library Journal

"A lushly illuminated bilingual original tale with a precious moral for all times, the value of sisters sharing of carefully harvested garden bounty and love... a beautiful tale of sharing plenty that is exactly what the notion of thanksgiving is about." --Midwest Book Review

"[Valencia's] brush presents tomatoes so tantalizing, corn so sweet, and chiles so peppery, as to make the taste buds salivate from memories of a perfect Sinaloan posole! Join Hayes and Valencia for this delicious fare that's both nourishing for the grumbling belly ... and the hungry soul."--Book Dragon

"Visual beauty, humor, storyline, and a moral come together in this excellent book for kids."--Molly Kincaid, Edible Baja Arizona

You may also be interested in...

Northern Lights
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Spectacular School Trip (Really.)
Added to basket
The Beast of Buckingham Palace
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Frostheart
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Christmasaurus
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Jolly Christmas Postman
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Dinky Donkey (PB)
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Teachers
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
The Christmasaurus and the Winter Witch
Added to basket
The Polar Express
Added to basket
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Beano Annual 2020
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
The Subtle Knife
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.