Doing Time: An Introduction to the Sociology of Imprisonment (Hardback)
  • Doing Time: An Introduction to the Sociology of Imprisonment (Hardback)
zoom

Doing Time: An Introduction to the Sociology of Imprisonment (Hardback)

(author)
£99.99
Hardback 297 Pages / Published: 28/08/2009
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
The new edition of Doing Time brings this widely recognized book up-to-date and provides an accessible and informed discussion of current debates around prisons and penal policy. Drawing on a range of international material the book provides a critical sociological analysis of developments in imprisonment.

Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
ISBN: 9780230235519
Number of pages: 297
Weight: 498 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 22 mm
Edition: 2nd ed. 2009


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Here is the greatly awaited second edition of Doing Time keeping pace with this rapidly changing field. Unafraid of controversy, theoretically sophisticated and international in its scope this is the only book which covers the field, introduces students to the current debates and takes the argument forwards. It is a must for students and researchers alike' - Jock Young, Distinguished Professor of Criminal Justice, John Jay College and The Graduate Center, City University of New York, USA and author of The Criminological Imagination

'Doing Time is a theoretically sophisticated and challenging analysis of the key issues that define the contemporary prison. Students of penal studies need to pay serious attention to the core arguments of this book' - Professor Eugene McLaughlin, City University, UK

'Far more than a descriptive introduction to prisons, Doing Time presents a challenging, theoretically sophisticated discussion of the role of crime and punishment in society in the tradition of Foucault, Garland and Rusche and Kircheimer. Readers of all levels will find much to chew on here' - Professor Shadd Maruna, Queen's University Belfast, UK

'Doing Time will make an excellent co-text for upper level criminology and penology courses' - Linda Deutschmann, Teaching Sociology

'...the book is characterised by an intellectual honesty and a refusal to accept familiar or comfortable positions...the idea of 'doing time' is refreshed by this original approach'- Rob Canton, Probation Journal

You may also be interested in...

Mortality
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Sociology For Dummies
Added to basket
£15.99
Paperback
Designing Social Inquiry
Added to basket
Simone Weil: An Anthology
Added to basket
Sex and Punishment
Added to basket
Sex at Dawn
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
OCR Sociology for A Level Book 1
Added to basket
Development as Freedom
Added to basket
The Sociology Book
Added to basket
DK
£17.99
Hardback
Greed
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
A Dictionary of Sociology
Added to basket
The Art of Conversation
Added to basket
Small Is Beautiful
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.