Do Something For Nothing (Hardback)
  • Do Something For Nothing (Hardback)
zoom

Do Something For Nothing (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 224 Pages
Published: 27/05/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
For fans of Humans Of New York and The Pursuit of Happyness.


'A big-hearted and world-shaking idea' - Nick Cave


'Turn a common, everyday act into something potentially transformative.' - Michael Sheen


'Moving and inspiring' - Johann Hari


'Small acts of love can make a big impact.' - Morgan Freeman

When you're on the fringes of society, being recognised can mean everything.
In 2015, while working at a London hair salon, Joshua Coombes took to the streets with his scissors to build relationships with people sleeping rough in the capital, and began posting transformative images on social media to amplify their voices. These stories resonated and thousands of people got involved in their own way. From this, #DoSomethingForNothing was born - a movement that encourages people to contribute their skills and time to those who need it. This book explores themes of love, acceptance, shame and perseverance, while inviting us to see ourselves in one another and challenge the negative stigmas surrounding homelessness. Through the simple act of a haircut, Joshua takes you on a journey into the lives of people experiencing homelessness in different cities across the world.
Featuring before-and-after photographs, street art and stories, this book is an inspiring and uplifting account of one man's experiences with people who have more in common with all of us than you might imagine.
A portion of the proceeds from this book will be donated to organisations dedicated to assisting unsheltered people, as well as supporting future not-for-profit art projects.

Publisher: Murdoch Books
ISBN: 9781911632160
Number of pages: 224
Dimensions: 229 x 152 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A simple, big-hearted and world-shaking idea.' - Nick Cave, Singer Songwriter'Joshua's stories show the power that empathy and compassion can have to turn a common, everyday act into something potentially transformative.' - Michael Sheen'Hope, optimism, kind curiosity, and real human connection. This book will make you want to do something, just because you can.' - Emma Gannon, Author of the Multi-Hyphen Method 'This is a moving and inspiring book about how we can be better people' - Johann Hari, Author of Lost Connections and Chasing the Scream: The First and Last Days of the War on Drugs'Coombes believes that small acts of love can make a big impact.' - Morgan Freeman

You may also be interested in...

All That Is Solid
Added to basket
£15.99
Paperback
Stuart
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Grass Arena
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Housing
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Down and Out in Paris and London
Added to basket
A Gift of Hope
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Unsettled
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Urban Grimshaw and The Shed Crew
Added to basket
Down and Out in Paris and London
Added to basket
The_secret_bookreview

“ARC”

Through the simple act of a haircut, readers are taken on a geographical and emotional journey into the lives of humans experiencing homelessness in different cities across the world.

The stories within this book... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5
Lucy-Bookworm

“Just read it!”

When Joshua Coombes stopped to chat to a homeless man on a street in London in 2015, he never imagined that it would lead to a whole lifestyle change & a movement that has spread worldwide. Joshua was a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5
The_secret_bookreview

“ARC”

Through the simple act of a haircut, readers are taken on a geographical and emotional journey into the lives of humans experiencing homelessness in different cities across the world.

The stories within this book... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: