Ts&Cs apply
Dissolution - The Shardlake series (Paperback)
  • Dissolution - The Shardlake series (Paperback)
zoom

Dissolution - The Shardlake series (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 480 Pages
Published: 09/05/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Launching one of our favourite historical fiction series, the peerless Dissolution introduces Tudor lawyer Matthew Shardlake as he roots out murder in the marshes.

Dissolution is the first novel in C. J. Sansom’s phenomenal bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Phillipa Gregory. After one of Cromwell's commissioners is brutally murdered, Matthew Shardlake is drawn into an investigation that becomes darker than he could have ever imagined . . .

England, 1537. It is a time of revolution that sees the greatest changes in England since 1066. Henry VIII has proclaimed himself Supreme Head of the Church. The country is waking up to savage new laws, rigged trials and the greatest network of informers it has ever seen. And under the orders of Thomas Cromwell, a team of commissioners is sent throughout the country to investigate the monasteries. There can only be one outcome: dissolution.

But on the Sussex coast, at the monastery of Scarnsea, events have spiralled out of control. Cromwell's commissioner, Robin Singleton, has been found dead, his head severed from his body. His horrific murder accompanied by equally sinister acts of sacrilege.

Matthew Shardlake, lawyer and long-time supporter of Reform, has been sent by Cromwell to uncover the truth behind the dark happenings at Scarnsea. But Shardlake's investigation soon forces him to question everything that he hears, and everything that he intrinsically believes.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781035012282
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 326 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Remarkable . . . The sights, the voices, the very smell of this turbulent age seem to rise from the page - P. D. James, author of the Inspector Adam Dalgliesh series

Extraordinarily impressive. The best crime novel I have read this year - Colin Dexter, author of the Inspector Morse series

Terrific. Historical fiction at its finest - Peter Robinson, author of the Inspector Alan Banks series

Terrific . . . a remarkable, imaginative feat. It is a first-rate murder mystery and one of the most atmospheric historical novels I’ve read in years - Mail on Sunday

Dissolution is not just a fascinating detective story, but a convincing portrait of a turbulent period - Sunday Telegraph

Matthew Shardlake combines engrossing historical detail with a first-rate murder mystery. A really satisfying page-turner - Independent

Sansom has a greater talent for animating period details than most of his contemporaries; his rendering of the Tudor winter in the first of the Shardlake series makes you reach for thick fleece blankets - The Guardian

I don’t read historical novels any more — it’s a busman’s holiday — but I make an exception for C. J. Sansom’s Shardlake books, which are set amid the uncertainties of the sixteenth-century Henrician Reformation - Bernard Cornwell, The Times, ‘The 25 books you must read’

CJ Sansom’s books are arguably the best Tudor novels going - Sunday Times

You may also be interested in...

Murder at Holly House
Added to basket
Traitors Gate
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Munich Wolf
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Beholders
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Betrayal
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Lock-Up
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Square of Sevens
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Winter List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Great Deceiver
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Death Under a Little Sky
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bookseller of Inverness
Added to basket
Traitors Gate
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback

“Bring on Book 2!”

Such a richly woven tale of murder and mystery set in the unlikely setting of a Tudor monastery. I was hooked from page one and literally couldn't have guessed 'whodunit'! Filled with great plot twists... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 147

“Great Historical Whodunit”

This is Tudor whodunit, set in the reign of Henry VIII. Shardlake is a commissionaire for Lord Cromwell and is asked to go to a monastery to investigate the murder of the last commissionaire who was there. He arrives... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 145

“Dissolution”

This book had me gripped from the first page. I couldn't put it down. You just don't want it to end. Grab a glass of wine, light the candles and go back to the darker side of Tudor England. Brilliant!

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 143

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: