Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Different Class (Hardback)
  • Different Class (Hardback)
zoom

Different Class (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 21/04/2016
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
The gripping new psychological thriller from Joanne Harris, to follow her bestselling Gentlemen & Players and Blueeyedboy. Perfect for fans of Claire Mackintosh, BA Paris. Paula Hawkins and Tracy Chevalier. After thirty years at St Oswald's Grammar in North Yorkshire, Latin master Roy Straitley has seen all kinds of boys come and go. But every so often there's a boy who doesn't fit the mould. A troublemaker. A boy with hidden shadows inside. A new broom has arrived, bringing Powerpoint, sharp suits and even sixth form girls to the dusty corridors. But while Straitley does his sardonic best to resist this march to the future, a shadow from his past is stirring. A boy who even twenty years on haunts his teacher's dreams. A boy capable of bad things. "A masterpiece of misdirection". (Val McDermid). "Compellingly suspenseful...both a splendidly dark comedy and a disturbing thriller." (Ramsey Campbell). "Terrific twists pile up at a highly satisfying rate...you'll be hooked". (James Walton, Reader's Digest). What the critics said about Gentlemen & Players and Blueeyedboy: "A terrific and absorbing suspense novel...twists and turns to keep you on your toes". (Peter Robinson). "Gripping psychological thriller ...one of our most accomplished novelists...pace, wit and acute observation...at the top of her form". (Daily Express). "The plot is so cleverly constructed, the tension so unflagging, you'd think she'd been writing thrillers all her life". (Daily Mail). "[A] clever story of obsession and revenge". (Sunday Telegraph).

"Classy writing, sensitive and moving." The Times
 
"Part black comedy, part thriller, and totally enjoyable, this is better than Chocolat" The Daily Mail

"Harris pulls off an impeccable thriller denouement and the school soap opera that preceeds it is consistantly entertaining." The Sunday Times

Publisher: Random House USA Inc
ISBN: 9780385619233
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 704 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 37 mm

You may also be interested in...

Thirteen
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Fallen
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Legacy of Spies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Now We Are Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye
Added to basket
The Rooster Bar
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Reckoning
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Our House
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Elevation
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback

“Another dark day at St.Oswald's Grammar....”

This is the third book of the Malbry cycle of dark psychological thrillers, ( Gentlemen & Players, Blueyed boy and now Different Class ). Joanna Harris takes us back to St. Oswald's Grammar School in North... More

Hardback edition
28th February 2016
Helpful? Upvote 97

“An engaging blend of darkness and light”

I found myself deliciously drawn into the autonomous world of St Oswald's and its macabre web of secrecy. Elements of humour in the form of well meaning but old-fashioned Latin teacher Mr Straightley kept it... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
13th May 2017
Helpful? Upvote 52
Jackie Law

“Brooding, complex and utterly compelling”

Different Class, by Joanne Harris, is the third book in a series of psychological thrillers by the author, each set in the fictional Yorkshire town of Malbry. I have not read the first two books so approached this one... More

Hardback edition
20th April 2016
Helpful? Upvote 50

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.