Deep Country: Five Years in the Welsh Hills (Paperback)
  • Deep Country: Five Years in the Welsh Hills (Paperback)
zoom

Deep Country: Five Years in the Welsh Hills (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 224 Pages
Published: 02/02/2012
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Deep Country is Neil Ansell's account of five years spent alone in a hillside cottage in Wales.

I lived alone in this cottage for five years, summer and winter, with no transport, no phone. This is the story of those five years, where I lived and how I lived. It is the story of what it means to live in a place so remote that you may not see another soul for weeks on end. And it is the story of the hidden places that I came to call my own, and the wild creatures that became my society.

Neil Ansell immerses himself in the rugged British landscape, exploring nature's unspoilt wilderness and man's relationship with it. Deep Country is a celebration of rural life and the perfect read for fans of Robert Macfarlane's Landmarks, Helen Macdonald's H is for Hawk orJames Rebanks' A Shepherd's Life.

Neil Ansell spent five years living on a remote hillside in Wales, and wrote his first book, Deep Country, about the experience. Since that time, he has become an award-winning television journalist with the BBC. He has travelled in over fifty countries and has written for the Guardian, the New Statesman and the Big Issue.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780141049328
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 159 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 14 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Shepherd's Life
Added to basket
English Pastoral
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Wild Fell
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Field Work
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Way Home
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Secret Life of Cows
Added to basket
Adventures Of The Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
Native
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Year on Our Farm
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Way of the Hermit
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Make Hay While the Sun Shines
Added to basket
All Creatures Great and Small
Added to basket
Springtime at Cannon Hall Farm
Added to basket
My Farming Life
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Woodston
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Rural
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback

“Simply 206 pages of bird watching”

Disappointing to say the least. The book contains about 2 pages on Neil’s experience of the living in the cottage itself, the rest just a long journal of bird watching - and you need to have a real interest and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“Hudolus - enchanting and magical”

This book is a small and delightful little trinket. Ansell emersed himself in the surroundings of the Welsh landscape, the book being a pair of rimless glasses through which he wears taking you with him, seeing what... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: