Find your perfect holiday reading
Deep Country: Five Years in the Welsh Hills (Paperback)
  • Deep Country: Five Years in the Welsh Hills (Paperback)
zoom

Deep Country: Five Years in the Welsh Hills (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 224 Pages / Published: 02/02/2012
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Deep Country is Neil Ansell's account of five years spent alone in a hillside cottage in Wales.

I lived alone in this cottage for five years, summer and winter, with no transport, no phone. This is the story of those five years, where I lived and how I lived. It is the story of what it means to live in a place so remote that you may not see another soul for weeks on end. And it is the story of the hidden places that I came to call my own, and the wild creatures that became my society.

Neil Ansell immerses himself in the rugged British landscape, exploring nature's unspoilt wilderness and man's relationship with it. Deep Country is a celebration of rural life and the perfect read for fans of Robert Macfarlane's Landmarks, Helen Macdonald's H is for Hawk orJames Rebanks' A Shepherd's Life.

Neil Ansell spent five years living on a remote hillside in Wales, and wrote his first book, Deep Country, about the experience. Since that time, he has become an award-winning television journalist with the BBC. He has travelled in over fifty countries and has written for the Guardian, the New Statesman and the Big Issue.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780141049328
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 160 g
Dimensions: 201 x 133 x 14 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Touching. Through Ansell's charming and thoroughly detailed stories of run-ins with red kites, curlews, sparrowhawks, jays and ravens, we see him lose himself . . . in the rhythms and rituals of life in the British wilderness' - The Financial Times

'Remarkable, fascinating' - Time Out

'A gem of a book, an extraordinary tale. Ansell's rich prose will transport you to a real life Narnian world that CS Lewis would have envied. Find your deepest, most-comfortable armchair and get away from it all' - Countryfile

'A beautiful, translucent portrayal of mid-Wales' - Jay Griffiths

You may also be interested in...

Heida
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Adventures Of The Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
A Farmer's Diary
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
On Sheep
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Till the Cows Come Home
Added to basket
Counting Sheep
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Secret Life of Cows
Added to basket
The Shepherd's Life
Added to basket
The Last Shepherds
Added to basket
The Last Horsemen
Added to basket
The Crofter and the Laird
Added to basket
The Gamekeeper
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Park Life
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Last English Poachers
Added to basket
Like Farmer, Like Son
Added to basket
Horses, Heifers and Hairy Pigs
Added to basket
The Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.