• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Death in August: Book One - Inspector Bordelli (Paperback)
  • Death in August: Book One - Inspector Bordelli (Paperback)
zoom

Death in August: Book One - Inspector Bordelli (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 240 Pages / Published: 01/09/2011
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Crime fiction packed with Italian flavour, Death in August is the first Inspector Bordelli mystery set in 1960s' Florence - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri or Donna Leon.

Florence, summer 1963. Inspector Bordelli is one of the few policemen left in the deserted city. He spends his days on routine work, and his nights tormented by the heat and mosquitoes.

Suddenly one night, a telephone call gives him a new sense of purpose: the suspected death of a wealthy Signora. Bordelli rushes to her hilltop villa, and picks the locks. The old woman is lying on her bed - apparently killed by an asthma attack, though her medicine has been left untouched.

With the help of his young protege, the victim's eccentric brother, and a semi-retired petty thief, the inspector begins a murder investigation. Each suspect has a solid alibi, but there is something that doesn't quite add up . . .

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444712216
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 174 g
Dimensions: 199 x 132 x 17 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'A real find for anyone who likes their crime novels atmospheric, discursive, humorous and thought-provoking.' * Guardian *
'[Italian] writers are justifiably growing in popularity here: Marco Vichi deserves to be among them . . . [Bordelli] is stubborn, womanless, cynical and impatient, but strangely appealing.' * Marcel Berlins, The Times *
'Over the course of his police procedurals, Vichi shows us ever more secret and dark sides to an otherwise sunny and open city. But his happiest creation, in my opinion, remains the character of Inspector Bordelli, a disillusioned anti-hero who is difficult to forget.' * Andrea Camilleri *
'Three cheers for an absolute delight! . . . The strength of the novel is the in-depth portrayal of the characters, particularly Bordelli himself - eccentric, obstinate, generous and sad . . . The descriptions of the sounds and smells of the Tuscan summer are so vivid that you think they are real. The food is to die for. I can't wait to read the next one.' * www.shotsmag.co.uk *
[The Inspector Bordelli books] feature a fascinating cop and disillusioned anti-hero who rails against both injustice and the corrupt system but faces classic murder cases with a familiar Christie-like ring * Maxim Jakubowski *
'Vichi's stellar first in a new mystery series introduces endearingly melancholic Inspector Bordelli . . . [and] delivers a plausible solution worthy of a golden age crime novel. Readers will look forward to seeing more of this flawed hero.' * Publishers Weekly, starred review *
'This is a promising start to a series' * Literary Review *
Fuses social commentary with fine cuisine and serves it up on a charming bed of criminality, and is a creditable advert for Italian crime fiction . . . definitely one to savour. * www.bookgeeks.co.uk *
A classic mystery . . . an investigator, a tormented figure and an Italy which is less cynical but no less evil than today's. * Il Venerdi di Repubblica *

You may also be interested in...

Slow Horses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Seagull
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Thirst
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Couple Next Door
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Late Show
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Crow Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Edge of Darkness (The Cincinnati Series Book 4)
Added to basket
Sirens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Owl Always Hunts at Night
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Dry
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Want You Gone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Insidious Intent
Added to basket
£7.99   £3.99
Paperback
The Woman in the Window
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback

Reviews

View all

“Not quite warming to the Inspector.”

I was drawn to this book firstly by having watched the Inspector Montalbano mysteries on tv and then starting with the books by Andrea Camilleri. There are striking similarities between the two, the love of food,... More

Paperback edition
23rd July 2012
Helpful? Upvote 5

“A great trip in Toscany”

Ready for a trip in Toscany under the stuffy heat of August 1963? Ready to meet an unusual inspector and some charismatic characters ? Ready to investigate ?

Marco Vichi is the writer of the promising inspector... More

Paperback edition
15th November 2017
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.