Death and Croissants - A Follet Valley Mystery (Paperback)
  • Death and Croissants - A Follet Valley Mystery (Paperback)
zoom

Death and Croissants - A Follet Valley Mystery (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 288 Pages
Published: 01/04/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A peace-loving British B&B owner in rural France turns sleuth when one his guests disappears in the first wonderfully witty whodunit in Moore’s entertaining Follett Valley series, perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club.

Richard is a middle-aged Englishman who runs a B&B in the fictional Val de Follet in the Loire Valley. Nothing ever happens to Richard, and really that's the way he likes it.

One day, however, one of his older guests disappears, leaving behind a bloody handprint on the wallpaper. Another guest, the exotic Valerie, persuades a reluctant Richard to join her in investigating the disappearance.

Richard remains a dazed passenger in the case until things become really serious and someone murders Ava Gardner, one of his beloved hens... and you don't mess with a fellow's hens!

Publisher: Duckworth Books
ISBN: 9781788424233
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A very funny page-turner. Fantastique!' Adam Kay

'A joyous read!' Alan Carr

'A writer of immense wit and charm' Paul Sinha

'Ian is one of my favourite writers; this is hilarious and a great mystery too' Janey Godley

'Good food and a laugh-out-loud mystery. What more could anyone want in these dark times' Mark Billingham

'Like going on a joyous romp through the Loire valley with Agatha Christie, PG Woodhouse and Mc Beaton. A delight.' C. K. McDonnell

'Ian Moore is a brilliant, funny writer who perfectly captures the foibles of rural France but judging by this book I will never be visiting his bed and breakfast’ Josh Widdicombe

'Beautifully done. Very funny indeed. I can’t imagine how one plots something like that. Tremendous work' Miles Jupp

'I'm so punchdrunk from the sheer entertainment of it I've got a sore jaw. Encore!' Matt Forde

'This is like two great books in one, a tricksy whodunnit, and a really, really funny story' Jason Manford

'Such a brilliant read, smart, funny and his sharp writing captures the nuances of “Anglo-French” relations beautifully' Zoe Lyons

'This book is a fun and funny read and I’m very much looking forward to the next one' Ian Stone

'Funny, pacey and very entertaining' Robin Ince

You may also be interested in...

Resurrection Walk
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Just Another Missing Person
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Housemaid Is Watching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Traitors Gate
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Great fun”

Ian Moore is a well known standup comedian, famous on the comedy circuit and well respected by his fellow comedians. He turns his hand delightfully to being a novelist with this hilarious first book in a new series.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 61

“Perfect new murder mystery for this summer”

What can one say about a book that has more than ten comments under the ‘Praise for’ section on Waterstones.com? Hopefully I will dredge up something new, but I will agree with the general tone of those comments, and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 32

“Hilarious!”

I enjoyed every page of this hilarious new crime novel from Ian Moore. Happy to hear it is the first of a new series so there will be more to look forward to in the future. This is perfect for fans of Richard Osman,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: