Death and Croissants - A Follet Valley Mystery (Paperback)
  • Death and Croissants - A Follet Valley Mystery (Paperback)
zoom

Death and Croissants - A Follet Valley Mystery (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99 £7.49
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 01/04/2022
  • Save £1.50
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A peace-loving British B&B owner in rural France turns sleuth when one his guests disappears in the first wonderfully witty whodunit in Moore’s entertaining Follett Valley series, perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club.

Richard is a middle-aged Englishman who runs a B&B in the fictional Val de Follet in the Loire Valley. Nothing ever happens to Richard, and really that's the way he likes it.

One day, however, one of his older guests disappears, leaving behind a bloody handprint on the wallpaper. Another guest, the exotic Valerie, persuades a reluctant Richard to join her in investigating the disappearance.

Richard remains a dazed passenger in the case until things become really serious and someone murders Ava Gardner, one of his beloved hens... and you don't mess with a fellow's hens!

Publisher: Prelude Books
ISBN: 9781788424233
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A very funny page-turner. Fantastique!' Adam Kay, Comedian and author of This is Going to Hurt 'A writer of immense wit and charm.' - Paul Sinha, ITV's The Chase

'Death and Croissants is a far funnier book than a story about a bloody murder has any right to be.' - Josh Widdicombe, BBC's Mock the Week

'This is like two great books in one, a tricksy whodunnit, and a really, really funny story.' - Jason Manford

'Ian is one of my favourite writers; this is hilarious and a great mystery too.' -  Janey Godley

'Good food and a laugh-out-loud mystery. What more could anyone want in these dark times?" Mark Billingham

'Death and Croissants is such a relentless rollercoaster ride of laughs and twists, it should come with a height restriction and health warning.' - Matt Forde

'Sharp, slick and surprising - like the author himself - Death and Croissants is the Loire Valley's answer to Murder on the Orient Express. I'd marry him tomorrow (Richard, the protagonist; Ian too).' - Cally Beaton

'Though I disagree with the opinions on muesli and the hen naming system that are in this book, I will let those pass and say that it is funny, pacy and very entertaining! It also has short chapters - I find many modern novels take far too long to get to the next chapter, but there's no hanging about here.' - Robin Ince

'I'd never connected the words "death" and "croissants" before, but now they're inextricably linked. It's a rollicking qui-dunnit with as many twists as the Loire itself.' - Stephen Clarke, author of 1000 Years of Annoying the French

'Moore's French whodunnit is an engaging caper through the Loire Valley with an expat reluctant hero mixed up with a Maigret-like rural cast, a glamorous heroine and a couple of Mafia killers. It is finely paced, truly funny and written with a wry detachment that conjures up a gentler age of murder mystery.' - Charles Bremner

'Just like the Loire's other great export, Sancerre, Ian Moore's prose is reassuringly dry, beautifully constructed, and deeply satisfying. The Follet Valley series is a pleasure you'll return to again and again.' - Marty Wilson, former Australian Comic of the Year

Everyone is wanting Moore! - what people are saying about Ian Moore:

'Charming, witty, a brilliant read.' - Sarah Millican

'There are a great many comedians who think that they can also write books, myself included, but very few who can rival Ian Moore's immediate warmth and skill with language.' - Jon Richardson

'Ian Moore is a brilliantly funny writer and that's all there is to it.' - Annabel Giles

'Everything its author is: immaculately turned out, sharp and consistently hilarious.' - Mark Billingham

'What a strange and wonderful sight Ian Moore must present in the Loire Valley - an English Mod kicking around rural France with a young family, a few goats and big dreams of the good life. His brilliant book is warm, funny and big-hearted - easily the best Englishman-abroad memoir since Gerald Durrell was in short trousers and knocking around pre-war Corfu.' - Tony Parsons

'So well written and funny you feel you're there flailing with him in the chicken coop. Warm, tender and incredibly funny. Treads that perfect balance between thigh-slappingly hilarious and heartbreakingly human: a unique and wonderful book.' - Isy Suttie

'Ian Moore is a brilliant comedian whose wit is as sharp as his dress sense and he has managed to take that on stage story telling brilliance and put it in his writing. A great read - even if you're French!' - John Bishop, Comedian and Broadcaster

Crime & Coffee Book Club

Crime & Coffee Book Club

Bishop's Stortford
Wednesday 1st June 10:00

Join us in store on the 1st of June for our Crime & Coffee book club

View

You may also be interested in...

The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Greenwich Park
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Hour
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sixteen Horses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Perfect new murder mystery for this summer”

What can one say about a book that has more than ten comments under the ‘Praise for’ section on Waterstones.com? Hopefully I will dredge up something new, but I will agree with the general tone of those comments, and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Never Mess With A Fellow's Hens!”

Death and Croissants is the first book in a new series of murder mysteries which sees middle aged Englishman Richard running a B&B in the Loire Valley. An avid fan of classic films, Richard is proud of his quite... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“Hilarious!”

I enjoyed every page of this hilarious new crime novel from Ian Moore. Happy to hear it is the first of a new series so there will be more to look forward to in the future. This is perfect for fans of Richard Osman,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.