Dead Man's Prayer: A Gripping Detective Thriller with a Killer Twist - DI Frank Farrell 1 (Paperback)
  • Dead Man's Prayer: A Gripping Detective Thriller with a Killer Twist - DI Frank Farrell 1 (Paperback)
zoom

Dead Man's Prayer: A Gripping Detective Thriller with a Killer Twist - DI Frank Farrell 1 (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£13.99
Paperback 344 Pages / Published: 01/12/2016
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A dark and gripping crime debut, the first in an exciting new series. Eighteen years ago, DI Frank Farrell turned his back on the church. But when an ex-priest is murdered in his hometown, he has no choice but to delve into his past. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, James Oswald and Val McDermid.

Ex-priest DI Frank Farrell has returned to his roots in Dumfries, only to be landed with a disturbing murder case. Even worse, Farrell knows the victim: Father Boyd, the man who forced him out of the priesthood eighteen years earlier.

With no leads, Farrell must delve into the old priest's past, one that is inexorably linked with his own. But his attention is diverted when a pair of twin boys go missing. The Dumfries police force recover one in an abandoned church, unharmed. But where is his brother?

As Farrell investigates the two cases, he can't help but feel targeted. Is someone playing a sinister game, or is he seeing patterns that don't exist? Either way, it's a game Farrell needs to win before he loses his grip on his sanity, or someone else turns up dead.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008200961
Number of pages: 344
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm
Edition: Digital original


MEDIA REVIEWS

`Gripping ... a compelling and authentic page-turner' Sunday Mail

'A thrilling, pacy police procedural with a very humane heart beating at its core' Caro Ramsey

`British crime fiction has a rising star. DI Frank Farrell is flawed, layered and utterly compelling. The plot is intriguing, the supporting characters well-rounded, and the psychology of Catholicism is subtle and effective. A great read' Mike Craven, author of the D. I. Avison Fluke series

`Jackie Baldwin is an exciting author whose debut novel is one which will stay with me for a long time ... the more I read, the faster I found myself turning the pages ... I'm already wondering how long it'll be before I can read the next instalment' CrimeSquad.com

`In her striking debut novel, Jackie Baldwin demonstrates an ease with police procedure, an ear for character and an eye for a strong storytelling. Really looking forward to seeing where she goes next' Michael Malone

`Stark and lean, yet deeply layered writing marks Jackie Baldwin out as a rising star on the British crime fiction scene. Dead Man's Prayer is a compelling, thrilling read, and DI Frank Farrell a character I look forward to meeting again' Matt Hilton, bestselling author of the Joe Hunter thrillers

`DEAD MAN'S PRAYER will keep you hooked from beginning to end. Captivating characters, a thrilling plot, and plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing ... a gripping thriller and a truly killer read!' Linda Green, booksofallkinds.weebly.com

`Gripping ... very cleverly plotted ... a really promising new crime series' PortobelloBookBlog

You may also be interested in...

The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Two Kinds of Truth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Dark Angel
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Word Is Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Hellbent
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Damaged
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Can You Hear Me?
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sharp Objects
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sleeping in the Ground
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Good Daughter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The President is Missing
Added to basket
£20.00   £12.99
Hardback
The Gathering Dark
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A Stunning Debut”

Dead Man’s Prayer is the stunning debut from Jackie Baldwin, a crime thriller that will draw you in and keep you entertained throughout the book. From page one all the way through to the end there are no wasted words... More

Paperback edition
18th October 2016
Helpful? Upvote 48

“Brilliant new series!”

DI Frank Farrell is drawn back to his hometown of Dumfries. The only difference being that last time he was a resident of Dumfries and Galloway, he was a catholic priest and now he’s a detective inspector. That’s... More

Paperback edition
16th December 2016
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.