Dead Man's Prayer - DI Frank Farrell Book 1 (Paperback)
  • Dead Man's Prayer - DI Frank Farrell Book 1 (Paperback)
zoom

Dead Man's Prayer - DI Frank Farrell Book 1 (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99 £4.50
Paperback 344 Pages / Published: 01/12/2016
  • Save £4.49
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'Gripping ... a compelling and authentic page-turner' Sunday Mail

'A must read!' Reader review

'A sparkling debut!' Reader review

The first in an exciting new Scottish crime thriller series. Perfect for fans of L J Ross, Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves.

Ex-priest DI Frank Farrell has returned to his roots in Dumfries, only to be landed with a disturbing murder case. Even worse, Farrell knows the victim: Father Boyd, the man who forced him out of the priesthood eighteen years earlier.

With no leads, Farrell must delve into the old priest's past, one that is inexorably linked with his own. But his attention is diverted when a pair of twin boys go missing. The Dumfries police force recover one in an abandoned church, unharmed. But where is his brother?

As Farrell investigates the two cases, he can't help but feel targeted. Is someone playing a sinister game, or is he seeing patterns that don't exist? Either way, it's a game Farrell needs to win before he loses his grip on his sanity, or someone else turns up dead.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008200961
Number of pages: 344
Weight: 250 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Gripping ... a compelling and authentic page-turner' Sunday Mail

'A thrilling, pacy police procedural with a very humane heart beating at its core' Caro Ramsey

'British crime fiction has a rising star. DI Frank Farrell is flawed, layered and utterly compelling. The plot is intriguing, the supporting characters well-rounded, and the psychology of Catholicism is subtle and effective. A great read' Mike Craven, author of the D. I. Avison Fluke series

'Jackie Baldwin is an exciting author whose debut novel is one which will stay with me for a long time ... the more I read, the faster I found myself turning the pages ... I'm already wondering how long it'll be before I can read the next instalment' CrimeSquad.com

'In her striking debut novel, Jackie Baldwin demonstrates an ease with police procedure, an ear for character and an eye for a strong storytelling. Really looking forward to seeing where she goes next' Michael Malone

'Stark and lean, yet deeply layered writing marks Jackie Baldwin out as a rising star on the British crime fiction scene. Dead Man's Prayer is a compelling, thrilling read, and DI Frank Farrell a character I look forward to meeting again' Matt Hilton, bestselling author of the Joe Hunter thrillers

'DEAD MAN'S PRAYER will keep you hooked from beginning to end. Captivating characters, a thrilling plot, and plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing ... a gripping thriller and a truly killer read!' Linda Green, booksofallkinds.weebly.com

'Gripping ... very cleverly plotted ... a really promising new crime series' PortobelloBookBlog

You may also be interested in...

The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Christmas Murder Game
Added to basket
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Left You Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Anxious People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last House on Needless Street
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Murder on a Winter's Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback

“A Stunning Debut”

Dead Man’s Prayer is the stunning debut from Jackie Baldwin, a crime thriller that will draw you in and keep you entertained throughout the book. From page one all the way through to the end there are no wasted words... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 65

“Brilliant new series!”

DI Frank Farrell is drawn back to his hometown of Dumfries. The only difference being that last time he was a resident of Dumfries and Galloway, he was a catholic priest and now he’s a detective inspector. That’s... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.