Days at the Morisaki Bookshop - Morisaki Bookshop (Paperback)
  • Days at the Morisaki Bookshop - Morisaki Bookshop (Paperback)
zoom

Days at the Morisaki Bookshop - Morisaki Bookshop (Paperback)

(author)
? RRP £10.99
£9.49
Save £1.50 (14%)
Paperback 160 Pages
Published: 04/07/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A broken-hearted young woman finds emotional refuge in the world of her uncle’s second-hand bookshop in this magical, thoroughly heartwarming tale about the healing power of reading, perfect for fans of Toshikazu Kawaguchi and Sayaka Murata.

Shortlisted for the British Book Awards Debut Fiction Book of the Year 2024

Hidden in Jimbocho, Tokyo is a booklover's paradise.

On a quiet corner in an old wooden building lies a shop filled with hundreds of second-hand books. Twenty-five-year-old Takako has never liked reading, although the Morisaki bookshop has been in her family for three generations.

It is the pride and joy of her uncle Satoru, who has devoted his life to the bookshop since his wife Momoko left him five years earlier. When Takako's boyfriend reveals he's marrying someone else, she reluctantly accepts her eccentric uncle's offer to live rent-free in the tiny room above the shop.

Hoping to nurse her broken heart in peace, Takako is surprised to encounter new worlds within the stacks of books lining the Morisaki bookshop. As summer fades to autumn, Satoru and Takako discover they have more in common than they first thought.

The Morisaki bookshop has something to teach them both about life, love, and the healing power of books.

Publisher: Bonnier Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781786583239
Number of pages: 160
Weight: 157 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 13 mm

You may also be interested in...

Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
More Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Kala
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Seventh Son
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Talking at Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Carla Bastos

“So hauntingly precious”

This is a book that will linger in my memory for a long, long time.

Quiet, easy and wholesome. A perfect palette cleanser for when you need to shut the world out, and when you want to feel like only you and your... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30
sagal

“Magical!”

I’ve got one word… Wow!! This book was so engaging I couldn’t contain myself and read it all in one day.

The Days at the Morisaki Bookshop follows Takako, who has abruptly left her job and relationship. She... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24

“not as magical as I thought”

Not as magical as I thought it would be and quite quirky. I was expecting something like Before the coffee gets cold so that's on meA very easy, entertaining and short read. Great for Japanese literature lovers.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: