Dawn - Lilith's Brood (Paperback)
  • Dawn - Lilith's Brood (Paperback)
zoom

Dawn - Lilith's Brood (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99 £8.49
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 20/01/2022
  • Save £1.50
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

The opening volume of Butler's groundbreaking Lilith's Brood saga centres on an alien race eager to restore humanity to Earth - at a price.

One woman is called upon to reconstruct humanity in this hopeful, thought-provoking novel by the bestselling, award-winning author. For readers of Margaret Atwood, Toni Morrison and Ursula K. Le Guin.

When Lilith lyapo wakes in a small white room with no doors or windows, she remembers a devastating war, and a husband and child long lost to her.

She finds herself living among the Oankali, a strange race who intervened in the fate of humanity hundreds of years before. They spared those they could from the ruined Earth, and suspended them in a long, deep sleep.

Over centuries, the Oankali learned from the past, cured disease and healed the world. Now they want Lilith to lead her people back home. But salvation comes at a price - to restore humanity, it must be changed forever...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472281067
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 220 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'One of the most significant literary artists of the twentieth century. One cannot exaggerate the impact she has had' - Junot Diaz

'Butler's prose, always pared back to the bone, delineates the painful paradoxes of metamorphosis with compelling precision' - Guardian

'A dark, compelling and still horribly resonant time travel story' - Independent

'[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' - New York Times

'No novel I've read this year has felt as relevant, as gut-wrenching or as essential... If you've ever tweeted "All Lives Matter", someone needs to shove Kindred into your hand, and quickly' - The Pool

'Kindred is that rare magical artifact... the novel one returns to, again and again' - Harlan Ellison

'A searing, caustic examination of bizarre and alien practices on the third planet from the sun' - Kirkus

'One of the most original, thought-provoking works examining race and identity' - Los Angeles Times

You may also be interested in...

Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Cursed Bunny
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Fahrenheit 451
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
Added to basket
Beautiful Star
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Children of Time
Added to basket
Leviathan Wakes
Added to basket
The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet
Added to basket
Shards of Earth
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Ready Player Two
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Earthlings
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Three-Body Problem
Added to basket
They
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Foundation
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Iron Widow
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Galaxy, and the Ground Within
Added to basket
Ready Player One
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
This is How You Lose the Time War
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.