Daughters-in-Law (Paperback)
  • Daughters-in-Law (Paperback)
zoom

Daughters-in-Law (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 05/01/2012
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Can a mother ever hand over her son to another woman?

In this emotional and thought-provoking novel, multi-million copy bestselling author Joanna Trollope expertly weaves a study of familial relationships with a lightness of tone and real sense of compassion. Fans of Elizabeth Noble, Erica James and Amanda Prowse will love it!

'Trollope writes about family life with wit, intelligence and verve'
- Guardian
'Wonderfully observed and readable' - THE TIMES
'Infallibly elegant...Look more closely and something as grim as Greek tragedy is played out around the cosy family dining table' - Daily Telegraph

'I found it hard to put this book down' -- ***** Reader review
'A brilliant book' -- ***** Reader review
'Always an enjoyable read - Joanna Trollope is the mistress of family emotions' -- ***** Reader review
'I read it last week and have started to re-read it immediately.' -- ***** Reader review

**************************************************************************************

DAUGHTERS-IN-LAW : THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER

When you've dedicated your life to your children, what happens when they grow up?


Rachel loves being at the centre of her large family. She has devoted herself fiercely to bringing up her three sons, but at their childhood home on the wide, bird-haunted coast of Suffolk, Rachel finds that her control begins to slip away. Other women - her daughters-in-law - are usurping her position. They have become more important to her boys than she is.

A crisis brings these subtle rifts to the surface.

Can there be a way forward, if they are to survive as a family?

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780552776400
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 294 g
Dimensions: 198 x 127 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
We love Trollope's novels and await each new one with excitement * HEAT *
Supremely sure of her material and purpose, compassionate but never sentimental * THE SUNDAY TIMES *
Wonderfully observed and readable * THE TIMES *
Infallibly elegant... All this lies beneath the sparkling, well groomed surface of a novel which could quite easily be read as a light diversion for an idle afternoon. But look more closely and something as grim as Greek tragedy is played out around the cosy family dinner table -- Jane Shilling * DAILY TELEGRAPH *
As ever, Trollope writes about family life with wit, intelligence and verve * GUARDIAN *

You may also be interested in...

How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and the Penguin
Added to basket
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Teresa Majury

“Family Relationships”

It's been ages since I read anything by Joanna Trollope probably not since her early novels The Rector's Wife and The Choir but I thought I'd try her again as this, her latest novel, resonates with me... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 32

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.