Daughter of Redwinter - The Redwinter Chronicles (Hardback)
  • Daughter of Redwinter - The Redwinter Chronicles (Hardback)
zoom

Daughter of Redwinter - The Redwinter Chronicles (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£22.00
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 30/06/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A real page-turner, one that kept me guessing, and pulling the rug out from under me' Novel Notions

'A glorious reconfiguration of classic fantasy' David Wragg, author of The Blackhawks

From the author of the critically-acclaimed Blackwing trilogy comes Ed McDonald's Daughter of Redwinter, the first of a brilliant fantasy series about how one choice can change a universe.

Raine can see - and speak - to the dead, a gift that comes with a death sentence. All her life she has hidden, lied, and run to save her skin, and she's made some spectacularly bad choices along the way.

But it is a rare act of kindness - rescuing an injured woman in the snow-that becomes the most dangerous decision Raine has ever made.

Because the woman is fleeing from Redwinter, the fortress-monastery of the Draoihn, warrior magicians who answer to no king, and who will stop at nothing to reclaim what she's stolen. A battle, a betrayal, and a horrific revelation force Raine to enter the citadel and live among the Draoihn. She soon finds that her secret ability could be the key to saving an entire nation.

Though she might have to die to make it happen . . .

Readers absolutely love Daughter of Redwinter:

'This book builds along solidly, painting in a complex backdrop of culture, magic and characters . . . the final six chapters are a rocket ride' Robin Hobb, bestselling author of The Realm of the Elderlings series

'The work of an author bursting with confidence, weaving a tale full of magic, mystery and intrigue' Mike Shackle, author of The Last War series

'This book is a page-turner that kept me hooked the whole time and pulled the rug out from under me!' Goodreads reviewer,

'In the end I was left breathless with where this story ended up . . . McDonald has outdone himself with this suspenseful and captivating new book' Goodreads reviewer,

'A girl who can see ghosts, betrayal, intrigue, magic . . . The worldbuilding in this book was fascinating' Netgalley reviewer,

'This fantasy world was beautiful and deadly . . . [I] adored this and will be recommending it to everyone' Netgalley reviewer,

'A stunningly good start to a new series' Goodreads reviewer,

'A fascinating magic system, thoughtful prose, and a truly compelling main character make Daughter of Redwinter a really incredible read' M.J. Kuhn, author of Among Thieves

'An amazingly unique magic system, realistically complex characters, and plot twists that literally had my mouth hanging open in shock. Also bisexual main character!' Goodreads reviewer,

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781473233621
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 560 g
Dimensions: 238 x 158 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Uncommonly vivid and vigorous . . . a superior start to a promising new saga * Publishers Weekly *
Daughter of Redwinter has it all: enigmatic characters, shady politics, secret cults, ancient evils, and a young woman grappling with her own shattered identity while navigating a world in which no one is quite what they seem * Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld *
Oozes with menace and enthralls with beautifully imperfect characters and its own rich, dark mythology * Grimdark Magazine *
The work of an author bursting with confidence, weaving a tale full of magic, mystery and intrigue * Mike Shackle, author of We Are the Dead *
Sad, exciting, mysterious and beautifully plotted, with characters who have taken up residence in my head * Catriona Ward, Sunday Times bestselling author of Sundial *
A spellbinding piece of fantasy; a unique world with morally grey characters abound, a fascinating magic system, buried history that oozes to the surface, and a young female protagonist you won't soon forget. Highly recommend * FanFiAddict *
A fascinating magic system, thoughtful prose, and a truly compelling main character . . . for fans of complicated yet lovable protagonists, twisty, intriguing plots, and fantasy that flirts with the edge of horror * M.J. Kuhn, author of Among Thieves *
Raine is my new favourite hero * Roz Kaveny *
A glorious reconfiguration of classic fantasy with a fresh, fascinating protagonist . . . a cracking read, full of heart, humour and lyrical prose in a world full of secret histories with the promise of so much more to come * David Wragg, author of The Blackhawks *
McDonald's medieval fantasy world feels lived-in, with a robust history, an intricate magic system, and a host of fascinating characters, but Raine herself-vulnerable but fierce, direct, and almost ruthlessly practical-is the heart of this memorable story. * Booklist *
Mysterious, honest, and exciting from start to finish, Daughter of Redwinter has the goods. . . . A real page-turner, one that kept me guessing, and pulling the rug out from under me * Novel Notions *
A thought-provoking story about a girl caught up in the whirlwind of ancient magic and the threat of war, and how even the smallest choices can affect our lives, perfect for fans of Patrick Rothfuss and the Robert Jordan * The Nerd Daily *
The twists and turns are fast-paced and shocking; the conclusion of this installation is satisfying . . . you'll love the unique magic system and incredible cast of characters * Geek Girl Authority *
If you like fantasy stories that take you to wondrous places that are also brimming with ghostly beings, this is your book. If you like fantasy stories with characters who are immensely compelling and not perfect, this is your book. If you like fantasy stories that ooze with danger and peril around every corner, this is your book. And finally, if you like fantasy stories that are so expertly written that you can see and feel the action playing out in your head so vividly that you believe it's all totally real, then THIS IS YOUR BOOK! * Out of This World SFF *
I'm still thinking about a lot of it days after finishing it . . . an excellent start to a new fantasy series * Biblio Nerd Reflections *
This is an incredible fantasy that subverts the reader's expectations every chance it gets, and I can't recommend it strongly enough * Every Book a Doorway *
This book builds along solidly, painting in a complex backdrop of culture, magic and characters . . . the final six chapters are a rocket ride, so don't start reading those if you have to get up early the next day * Robin Hobb, bestselling author of the The Realm of the Elderlings series *
Daughter of Redwinter is so good . . . I was hooked from the opening line * James Barclay, author of the Queen's Assassin *
McDonald's medieval fantasy world feels lived-in, with a robust history, an intricate magic system, and a host of fascinating characters, but Raine herself-vulnerable but fierce, direct, and almost ruthlessly practical-is the heart of this memorable story. * Booklist *

You may also be interested in...

Legends & Lattes
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Rise of the Dragon
Added to basket
£40.00   £35.00
Hardback
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
A Magic Steeped In Poison
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
Fairy Tale
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Atlas Six
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
2023 Tolkien Wall Calendar
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
The Nutcracker
Added to basket
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Tales from the Cafe
Added to basket
Fire and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Poppy War
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“Superb.”

The brilliant start to an epic fantasy series, it has a strong and intriguing main character who draws the reader into her world. With magic and mystery along with treachery and deceit and a cast of conspirators that... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.