Date with Death - The Dales Detective Series (Paperback)
  • Date with Death - The Dales Detective Series (Paperback)
zoom

Date with Death - The Dales Detective Series (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 01/09/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Meet two sleuths from a sleepy Yorkshire village as they investigate murders and discover the secrets behind the twitching curtains. Date with Death is the first cosy crime novel in Julia Chapman’s Dales Detective series, perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club and M. C. Beaton.

Samson O’Brien has been dismissed from the police force, and returns to his hometown of Bruncliffe in the Yorkshire Dales to set up the Dales Detective Agency. However, the villagers aren’t that welcoming to a man they see as trouble.

Delilah Metcalfe is struggling to keep her business, the Dales Dating Agency, afloat as well as trying to control her wayward dog, Tolpuddle, when Samson’s first case – a supposed suicide – takes an unexpected turn, and a trail of deaths lead back to the door of Delilah’s agency.

With suspicion hanging over someone they both care for, the two feuding neighbours soon realize that they need to work together to solve the mystery of the dating deaths. But working together is easier said than done . . .

Full of wit, warmth and characters you’ll care about, continue the murder mystery series with Date with Malice.

Praise for The Dales Detective series:

'Enlivened with numerous subplots, the story moves at a cracking pace' – Daily Mail

'Bags of Yorkshire charm and wit' – Northern Echo

'A classic whodunnit' – Cath Staincliffe, author of Blue Murder

'Full of dry wit and clever plotting' – Countryside

'Chapman delivers on every level' – Lancashire Evening Post

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781035002368
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 272 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A classic whodunit set in the spectacular landscape of the Yorkshire Dales, written with affection for the area and its people. A satisfying read riddled with dry Yorkshire humour (and dry-stone walls) - Cath Staincliffe, author of The Silence Between Breaths

Great fun! - Carol Drinkwater, actress (All Creatures Great and Small) and author

You may also be interested in...

None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Housemaid Is Watching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ink Blood Sister Scribe
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Exchange
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Just Another Missing Person
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Wrong Sister
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Page turner”

Although I guessed whodunit, this book is a must for people who like a good mystery. So many twists and turns I couldn't put the book down. Can't wait for the next book out in November.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 37

“Date with Death”

Delilah Metcalfe lives in the picturesque town of Bruncliffe in the Yorkshire Dales, where she struggles to make ends meet following the collapse of her marriage and the launch of two businesses that are not exactly... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: