Darkened Rooms of Summer: New and Selected Poems - Ted Kooser Contemporary Poetry (Paperback)
  • Darkened Rooms of Summer: New and Selected Poems - Ted Kooser Contemporary Poetry (Paperback)
zoom

Darkened Rooms of Summer: New and Selected Poems - Ted Kooser Contemporary Poetry (Paperback)

(author), (foreword,author of introduction)
£14.99
Paperback 220 Pages / Published: 01/03/2014
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
For nearly half a century Jared Carter has been quietly mapping the American heartland. Line by line, his poetry has shown us the landscape, sounded the voices, conjured the music, and tested the silence of the ever-changing and yet ever-constant Midwest that figures so prominently in the American story. And yet what we find in Carter's poetry is endlessly new. Here, in poems selected from his first five books, is the summer-long buzz of the cicada and the crack of the cue ball, the young rebel on his big Harley, and the YMCA secretary who backstrokes her way across the indoor pool. Here, too, are thirty new poems in fixed form that illustrate Carter's continued quest for a poetry of "universal interest." Taken together, these selections are, truly, poetry in the American grain.

Publisher: University of Nebraska Press
ISBN: 9780803248571
Number of pages: 220
Weight: 299 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 13 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Carter's is a poetry of a resolute middle distance, firmly of this world: between the dust under the earth and the dust of space there exists the place that the poem can illumine."-Helen Vendler, New York Review of Books -- Helen Vendler * New York Review of Books *

"[Carter] writes American poetry the way that William Faulkner wrote American novels. . . . [Carter's poems] have the homespun flavor of our native music-ballads, country blues, and sweet, clear, understated lyrics."-Sally A. Lodge, Publishers Weekly

-- Sally A. Lodge * Publishers Weekly *
"[Jared Carter] is the rare poet who is rooted in a certain place, which is of course Indiana, yet [he] deals with it in such a way that it is of universal interest."-Dana Gioia, former chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts -- Dana Gioia

"Jared Carter writes the kind of poetry that death does not touch. He brings us a very different atmosphere from this crazy techie world, with a command of metaphor and the bones of memory that do not lie. We trust this poet's vision."-Grace Cavalieri, danmurano.com

-- Grace Cavalieri * danmurano.com *
"Those of us who practice the craft of poetry will want to keep Darkened Rooms of Summer close at hand, so we can study these poems, and wonder how Jared Carter ushers us so seamlessly into his world, and thus, more deeply into our own."-James Crews, basalt -- James Crews * basalt *

"Jared Carter's poetry is pure, home-spun Americana, full of small-town people and places in the tradition of Edgar Lee Masters and Sherwood Anderson."-Portland Book Review * Portland Book Review *

You may also be interested in...

The Odyssey
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Epic of Gilgamesh
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Iliad
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Howl, Kaddish and Other Poems
Added to basket
Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats
Added to basket
Collected Poems
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Paperback
Leonard Cohen Poems
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Love Sonnets of Shakespeare
Added to basket
Paradise Lost
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Songs of Innocence and of Experience
Added to basket
The Iliad
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Poem For The Day One
Added to basket
The Waste Land and Other Poems
Added to basket
£10.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Odyssey
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Selected Poems
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.