Dark Things I Adore (Paperback)
  • Dark Things I Adore (Paperback)
zoom

Dark Things I Adore (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 14/09/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A provocative must-read of feminist fury about the inhuman lengths some take for success... or justice. Three campfire secrets. Two witnesses. One dead in the trees. And the woman, thirty years later, bent on making the guilty finally pay. 1988. A group of outcasts gather at a small, prestigious arts camp nestled in the Maine woods. They're the painters: bright, hopeful, teeming with potential. But secrets and dark ambitions rise like smoke from a campfire, and the truths they tell will come back to haunt them in ways more deadly than they dreamed. 2018. Esteemed art professor Max Durant arrives at his protege's remote home to view her graduate thesis collection. He knows Audra is beautiful and brilliant. He knows being invited into her private world is a rare gift. But he doesn't know that Audra has engineered every aspect of their weekend together. Every detail, every conversation. Audra has woven the perfect web. Only Audra knows what happened that summer in 1988. Max's secret, and the dark things that followed. And even though it won't be easy, Audra knows someone must pay. What comes to light, chapter by spellbinding chapter, is that one grand, grotesque act of selfishness committed by Max as a young man, followed by years of manipulating women for art, has set into motion the machinery of his own fatal undoing. A man should pay for his crimes, and no-one is more deserving of revenge than the women to whom he owes his career. He should go into this weekend far more vigilant, but he's distracted, as always, by an overwhelming desire to have his own way. But Audra, who is well aware that he's a monster, doesn't know everything that simmers beneath his surface.

Publisher: Titan Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781789095906
Number of pages: 480
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Katie Lattari writes as if she were one part journalist, one part historian, one part poet, one part comic, another part memoirist-but always a seer, staging... an exceedingly fresh, and ultimately poignant depiction of what it is to be alive today.";Steve Tomasula ;;"With whimsy, with impact, with grace, with distinctive characters and Voices, Katie Lattari has written a doozy of a debut. Fans of Faulkner, Djuna Barnes, and David Foster Wallace take note.";Michael T. Fournier;;

You may also be interested in...

Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
BOX 88
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Judge's List
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Left You Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Evening and the Morning
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Intense and Layered Thriller”

Dark Things I Adore is not an easy book to summarise, there are multiple narrators, multiple time frames, and even multiple formats as we get extracts from documents and small, almost disjointed notes thrown into the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0
Blue Book Balloon

“Absorbing and would recommend”

Dark Things I Adore takes us to a remote colony for artists, set among the deep woods of Maine, in 1988. Here a group of misfits gather, isolated from the world, and are given nicknames, distancing them from their... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.