Dark Matter: The compulsive alternate-universe thriller, now on Apple TV+ (Paperback)
  • Dark Matter: The compulsive alternate-universe thriller, now on Apple TV+ (Paperback)
zoom

Dark Matter: The compulsive alternate-universe thriller, now on Apple TV+ (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 11/04/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Blending thriller with science fiction, Crouch's mind-bending page-turner centres on an ordinary college physics professor who awakes in a strange world where he is a celebrated genius.

Now a major Apple TV+ series starring Joel Edgerton and Jennifer Connelly.

From Blake Crouch, the author of the bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy, Dark Matter is sweeping and intimate, mind-bendingly strange and profoundly human. Perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Ready Player One.

'Are you happy in your life?'

Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.

Before he awakes to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.

Before the man he's never met smiles down at him and says, 'Welcome back.'

In this world he's woken up to, Jason's life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that's the dream? And, if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could've imagined – one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

A relentlessly surprising thriller about choices, paths not taken, and how far we'll go to claim the lives we dream of . . .

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781035040438
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 284 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Brilliant. A book to remember. I think Blake Crouch just invented something new - Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Jack Reacher series

It's been a long time since a novel sucked me in and kept me turning pages the way this one did. Exceptional - Andy Weir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Martian

A masterful, truly original work of suspense. Crouch delivers laser-focused prose . . . and a touching, twisted love story that plays out in ways you'll never see coming - Harlan Coben, author of I Will Find You and creator of Fool Me Once

Wow. I gulped down Dark Matter in one sitting and put it down awed and amazed by the ride. It's fast, smart, addictive - and the most creative, head-spinning novel I've read in ages - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of Gravity

It also might be the most helter-skelter, race-to-the-finish-line thriller you'll read all year - Observer

Terse prose, strong characterisation and clever twists make for a quick, smart, engrossing read - Financial Times

Blake Crouch's Dark Matter is a mind-bending thriller of the first order, not merely a rollicking entertainment but a provocative investigation into the nature of second chances. I dare you to put it down, because I sure couldn't - Justin Cronin, New York Times bestselling author of The Passage Trilogy

Dark Matter is the kind of book the word "thriller" was coined for - it's a shooting star through multiple genres, posing fundamental questions about identity and reality before revealing itself as, at its core, a love story - Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of Guilty Minds and Suspicion

An addictive read! You're in for an intelligent, breath-taking ride - John Lescroat, New York Times bestselling author of The Fall

A mind-blowing sci-fi/suspense/love-story mash-up - Entertainment Weekly

Excellent characterization and well-crafted tension . . . the rousing and heartfelt ending will leave readers cheering - Publishers Weekly

Suspenseful, frightening, and sometimes poignant - Kirkus

Crouch keeps the pace swift and the twists exciting. Readers who liked his Wayward Pines trilogy will probably devour this speculative thriller in one sitting [as will] those who enjoy roller-coaster reads in the vein of Harlan Coben - Booklist

You may also be interested in...

The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housemaid Is Watching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Murder at the Monastery
Added to basket
The Year of the Locust
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Midnight Feast
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
Just Another Missing Person
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Resurrection Walk
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Kamogawa Food Detectives
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Adam at Liverpool

“Enjoyable Matter”

Not a genre I usually find myself reading. Saw it come in the shop but took no notice but a colleague expressed an interest in it so I kept it in mind then saw it go on offer so gave it a whirl. Very glad I did. The... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 72
Zuky the BookBum

“INCREDIBLE ”

This book has ripped me up inside. I’m not even that into sci-fi books, but this had me gripped and emotional from the very first page. If you’re looking to be whisked away to somewhere new, then pick up this. Dark... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 72

““It is possible to out-think yourself.” ”

A mind-bindingly good, action packed book that will take you on a very bumpy journey through existence.

After being abducted one night by a masked man, Jason, a physics teacher who let his promising career take a... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 59

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: