Dark Horses (Paperback)
  • Dark Horses (Paperback)
zoom

Dark Horses (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 13/05/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
As selected by Jodi Picoult for #TeamWorkTuesdays'A heart-pounding, can't-take-your-eyes-off-it debut' O, The Oprah Magazine'[A] sweeping and raw story of courage, resilience, and clear-eyed grace [that] will never leave me' Sara Gruen, #1 New York Times bestselling author

A dark, compelling story about one girl's fierce struggle to reclaim her life from her abusive father. Perfect for fans of My Dark Vanessa and Room.

Fifteen-year-old equestrian prodigy Roan Montgomery has only ever known two worlds: inside the riding arena, and out.

Both are ruled over by her father, who demands strict obedience in all aspects of her life. However, the warped power dynamic of coach and rider extends far beyond the stables, and Roan's relationship with her father has long been incestuous.

A ruthless ambition for the Olympics allows her to compartmentalise this dark aspect of her life, until she meets Will Howard, a boy her age, who brings everything into focus.
______

'The novel takes every narrative hurdle as nimbly and astonishingly capably as Roan does the courses she rides. This is a powerhouse' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

'Dark Horses is a pulse-pounding, unflinching tale of one teenaged girl's iron-willed determination to wrest control of her life from her abuser. Roan Mongtomery's sweeping and raw story of courage, resilience and clear-eyed grace will never leave me' Sara Gruen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Water for Elephants

'Mihalic is an expert in creating narrative drive; the urge to keep reading is powerful ... A provoking and needed book' Booklist (starred review)

'A searing examination of love and lust, power and control, as the narrator's rising sense of self yearns to take the reins' Kirkus (starred review)

'Mihalic astutely builds her absorbing debut novel ... A narrative that reaches shattering heights. Deftly sketching the relationships here (including the relationship between horse and rider), Mihalic gives a powerful and insightful account of Roan's abuse and her path to freedom' Library Journal (starred review)

'[A] heart-pounding, can't-take-your-eyes-off-it debut novel' OprahMag.com, Most Anticipated Books of 2021

Publisher: Welbeck Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781787395183
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'A pulse-pounding, unflinching tale of one teenaged girl's iron-willed determination to wrest control of her life from her abuser. Roan Montgomery's sweeping and raw story of courage, resilience and clear-eyed grace will never leave me' -- Sara Gruen, bestselling author of Water for Elephants.

You may also be interested in...

Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
No One Is Talking About This
Added to basket
The Fortune Men
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Great Circle
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Amazing”

I LOVED this book, much more than I expected to. That opening chapter was just a bombshell - and then I read the whole book pretty much in one sitting, and spent the whole time feeling seriously tense about what was... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.