Ts&Cs apply
Dark Horses (Paperback)
  • Dark Horses (Paperback)
zoom

Dark Horses (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 13/05/2021
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
As selected by Jodi Picoult for #TeamWorkTuesdays'A heart-pounding, can't-take-your-eyes-off-it debut' O, The Oprah Magazine'[A] sweeping and raw story of courage, resilience, and clear-eyed grace [that] will never leave me' Sara Gruen, #1 New York Times bestselling author

A dark, compelling story about one girl's fierce struggle to reclaim her life from her abusive father. Perfect for fans of My Dark Vanessa and Room.

Fifteen-year-old equestrian prodigy Roan Montgomery has only ever known two worlds: inside the riding arena, and out.

Both are ruled over by her father, who demands strict obedience in all aspects of her life. However, the warped power dynamic of coach and rider extends far beyond the stables, and Roan's relationship with her father has long been incestuous.

A ruthless ambition for the Olympics allows her to compartmentalise this dark aspect of her life, until she meets Will Howard, a boy her age, who brings everything into focus.
______

'The novel takes every narrative hurdle as nimbly and astonishingly capably as Roan does the courses she rides. This is a powerhouse' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

'Dark Horses is a pulse-pounding, unflinching tale of one teenaged girl's iron-willed determination to wrest control of her life from her abuser. Roan Mongtomery's sweeping and raw story of courage, resilience and clear-eyed grace will never leave me' Sara Gruen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Water for Elephants

'Mihalic is an expert in creating narrative drive; the urge to keep reading is powerful ... A provoking and needed book' Booklist (starred review)

'A searing examination of love and lust, power and control, as the narrator's rising sense of self yearns to take the reins' Kirkus (starred review)

'Mihalic astutely builds her absorbing debut novel ... A narrative that reaches shattering heights. Deftly sketching the relationships here (including the relationship between horse and rider), Mihalic gives a powerful and insightful account of Roan's abuse and her path to freedom' Library Journal (starred review)

'[A] heart-pounding, can't-take-your-eyes-off-it debut novel' OprahMag.com, Most Anticipated Books of 2021

Publisher: Welbeck Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781787395183
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'A pulse-pounding, unflinching tale of one teenaged girl's iron-willed determination to wrest control of her life from her abuser. Roan Montgomery's sweeping and raw story of courage, resilience and clear-eyed grace will never leave me' -- Sara Gruen, bestselling author of Water for Elephants.

You may also be interested in...

The Virgin Suicides
Added to basket
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
£16.99   £8.49
Hardback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Old Babes in the Wood
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Godmersham Park
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Amazing”

I LOVED this book, much more than I expected to. That opening chapter was just a bombshell - and then I read the whole book pretty much in one sitting, and spent the whole time feeling seriously tense about what was... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.