Dark Fire - The Shardlake series (Paperback)
  • Dark Fire - The Shardlake series (Paperback)
zoom

Dark Fire - The Shardlake series (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 608 Pages / Published: 16/07/2015
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Winner of the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, Dark Fire is the second thrilling book in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory.

'When it comes to intriguing Tudor-based narratives, Hilary Mantel has a serious rival' - Sunday Times
'Sansom has the trick of writing an enthralling narrative. Like Hilary Mantel, he produces densely textured historical novels that absorb their readers in another time' - Andrew Taylor, Spectator

England, 1540: Matthew Shardlake, believing himself out of favour with Thomas Cromwell, is busy trying to maintain his legal practice and keep a low profile. But his involvement with a murder case, defending a girl accused of brutally murdering her young cousin, brings him once again into contact with the king's chief minister - and a new assignment . . .

The secret of Greek Fire, the legendary substance with which the Byzantines destroyed the Arab navies, has been lost for centuries. Now an official of the Court of Augmentations has discovered the formula in the library of a dissolved London monastery. When Shardlake is sent to recover it, he finds the official and his alchemist brother horribly murdered - the formula has disappeared.

Now Shardlake must follow the trail of Greek Fire across Tudor London, while trying at the same time to prove his young client's innocence. But very soon he discovers nothing is as it seems . . .

An internationally bestselling phenomenon, this gripping historical series continues with Sovereign, Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation and Tombland.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781447285847
Number of pages: 608
Weight: 426 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Historical crime fiction is sometimes little more than a modern adventure in fancy dress. Not so the novels of C. J. Sansom, whose magnificent books set in the reign of Henry VIII bring to life the sounds and smells of Tudor England . . . Dark Fire is a creation of real brilliance. * Sunday Times *
Sansom gives us a broad view of politics - Tudor housing to rival Rachman, Dickensian prisons, a sewage-glutted Thames, beggars in gutters, conspiracies at court and a political system predicated on birth not merit, intrigue not intelligence . . . like many before him, he offers an enjoyable history; but this is also an ethically informed one . . . a strong and intelligent novel. * Guardian *
One of the author's greatest gifts is the immediacy of his descriptions . . . But it is Shardlake himself who steals the show. His honesty and humility shine out in a dark world where murder and mayhem are the order of the day. -- Colin Dexter
Spellbinding . . . Sansom's vivid portrayal of squalid, stinking, bustling London; the city's wealth and poverty; the brutality and righteousness of religious persecution; and the complexities of English law make this a suspenseful, colourful and compelling tale. * Publishers Weekly *
Dark Fire is wonderful stuff, featuring a sort of Tudor Rebus who moves through the religious and political chaos of the 1540s with sinister elan. -- James Naughtie * Glasgow Herald *

You may also be interested in...

The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
The Lantern Men
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
We Begin at the End
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Other Passenger
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
The Family Upstairs
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket

“Another excellent book by Sansom”

The second book in the Shardlake series was as good as the first. In this the story starts with him being asked to represent a girl accused of the murder of her cousin. She is refusing to speak, and the initial court... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 97

“A SIX STAR BOOK”

This book is better than the first in the series & I gave that 5 stars. All the characters from the principles to the nameless man with ox who appears once crossing the street are 3 dimentional. You can smell... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 81

“Dark Fire”

what can I say? I thought that the first novel of the series was amazing but Dark fire went one step further with a mesmerising plot set in an extremely interesting period of time. If you read this book be prepared... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 66

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.