Dark and Shallow Lies (Paperback)
  • Dark and Shallow Lies (Paperback)
zoom

Dark and Shallow Lies (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 432 Pages
Published: 02/09/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Arriving in her Louisiana hometown La Cachette, renowned for its psychics, seventeen-year-old Grey discovers her childhood best friend has gone missing in this irresistibly haunting, atmospheric YA mystery, suffused with dark mythology and folklore.

A intensely romantic and atmospheric thriller for young adults, full of twists and turns with a simmering supernatural undercurrent. Perfect for fans of Holly Jackson, Karen McManus and Delia Owens' Where the Crawdads Sing.

When seventeen-year-old Grey makes her annual visit to La Cachette, Louisiana - the tiny bayou town that proclaims to be the "Psychic Capital of the World" - she knows it will be different from past years: her childhood best friend Elora went missing several months earlier and no one is telling the truth about the night she disappears.

Grey can't believe that Elora vanished into thin air any more than she can believe that nobody in a town full of psychics knows what happened. But as she digs into the night that Elora went missing, she begins to realize that everybody in town is hiding something - her grandmother Honey; her childhood crush Hart; and even her late mother, whose secrets continue to call to Grey from beyond the grave.

When a mysterious stranger emerges from the bayou - a stormy-eyed boy with links to Elora and the town's bloody history - Grey realizes that La Cachette's past is far more present and dangerous than she'd ever understood. She doesn't know who she can trust. In a town where secrets lurk just below the surface, and where a murderer is on the loose, nobody can be presumed innocent - and La Cachette's dark and shallow lies may just rip the town apart.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008494780
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

‘Dark and Shallow Lies oozes atmosphere and dread […] An intense and brooding thriller laced with the supernatural and killer twists.’ – Observer ‘A page-turning thriller . . .’ – IRISH TIMES “Few books have stuck with me quite as much as Dark and Shallow Lies did this year. Like its ominous and isolated Louisiana bayou setting, Ginny Myers Sain’s debut YA novel is a story that’s as alluring as it is unnerving and unfathomable. Blending small-town supernatural thrills with a haunting coming-of-age murder mystery, it’s the kind of deeply atmospheric book that makes you live every second with its heart-breaking cast of young and troubled characters. Taking place, as Ginny Myers Sain describes it, in the “in-between spaces where magic feels most possible”, it’s a story that crackles off the page and into readers’ hearts, where it will stay for a long time to come.” Culturefly “Don’t even try to resist—Ginny Myers Sain will lure you into the spellbinding world of the deep Louisiana bayou with this riveting missing girl mystery populated by a bewitching cast of characters; spun to life in lush, atmospheric prose; and teeming with a dark mythology that is part folklore, part psychic mysticism, and entirely compelling.” —Kit Frick, author of I Killed Zoe Spanos “Haunting and arresting, this is one stunning debut. Ginny Myers Sain has written a totally engrossing small-town mystery about what happens when you finally dig up long-buried secrets.” —Jessica Goodman, bestselling author of They Wish They Were Us

You may also be interested in...

A Tempest of Tea
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
If He Had Been with Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Where the Dark Stands Still
Added to basket
Lightlark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Better Than the Movies
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume 5
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Five Survive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“small town spooks”

I loved this small-town supernatural mystery and found the differing supernatural abilities to be really unique and engaging. This book though is ALL about the stormy atmosphere and shared secrets and it's the... More

“Loved this!”

I absolutely loved this novel! Beautifully written, and set in a gorgeously eerie Louisiana bayou, this has a really unique feel, and I was absolutely absorbed as soon as I read the first page.

I won't go into a... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 7

“Immersive, eerie, atmospheric thriller”

Seventeen-year-old Grey is returning to her childhood home for the summer - the tiny, isolated, bayou town of La Cachette, Louisiana, "Psychic Capitol of the World". Everyone in the town has some kind of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: