Damn His Blood: Being a True and Detailed History of the Most Barbarous and Inhumane Murder at Oddingley and the Quick and Awful Retribution (Paperback)
  • Damn His Blood: Being a True and Detailed History of the Most Barbarous and Inhumane Murder at Oddingley and the Quick and Awful Retribution (Paperback)
zoom

Damn His Blood: Being a True and Detailed History of the Most Barbarous and Inhumane Murder at Oddingley and the Quick and Awful Retribution (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 06/06/2013
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The brutal murder of the Reverend George Parker in the rural village of Oddingley on Midsummer's Day in 1806 - shot and beaten to death, his body set on fire and left smouldering in his own glebe field - gripped everyone from the Home Secretary in London to newspapermen across the country. It was a strange and stubborn case. The investigation lasted twenty-four years and involved inquests, judges and coroners, each more determined than the last to solve Oddingley's most gruesome crime - or crimes, as it turned out.

With a cast of characters straight out of Hardy, Damn His Blood is a nail-biting true story of brutality, greed and ruthlessness which brings an elusive society vividly back to life.

Publisher: Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9780099554677
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 330 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Written in the vein of Kate Summerscale's The Suspicions Of Mr Whicher, Moore's story is in many ways more compelling * Herald *
Squire Haggard meets Midsomer Murders * Waterstones.com *
A nail-biter * Daily Mail *
A terrific read. First class research, beautifully written, a true thriller about an extraordinary story -- Edwina Currie
The clever thing is how deftly Peter Moore tells his story. At the time, the murders were a sensation so there are plenty of historical documents, but he has arranged the details in a way that shows a very canny eye for story-telling -- Nicholas Lezard * Guardian *

You may also be interested in...

Complete Jack The Ripper
Added to basket
Underworld London
Added to basket
Zodiac
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Jigsaw Man
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Jimmy The Weed
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Under The Banner of Heaven
Added to basket
Homicide
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
Added to basket
Underground
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Mammoth Book of Bizarre Crimes
Added to basket
Hell's Angel
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Rise of the Footsoldier
Added to basket
Wicked Beyond Belief
Added to basket
Girl A
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Tokyo Vice
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Honoured Society
Added to basket

“Pride and Extreme Prejudice”

I sometimes envy m’colleagues on the fiction floor. Whenever they want to recommend a book, they get to jump and down with ecstatic grins on their faces saying things like ‘I LOVED Fifty Shades of Grey!’ or ‘You... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 31

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.