Damn His Blood: Being a True and Detailed History of the Most Barbarous and Inhumane Murder at Oddingley and the Quick and Awful Retribution (Paperback)
  • Damn His Blood: Being a True and Detailed History of the Most Barbarous and Inhumane Murder at Oddingley and the Quick and Awful Retribution (Paperback)
zoom

Damn His Blood: Being a True and Detailed History of the Most Barbarous and Inhumane Murder at Oddingley and the Quick and Awful Retribution (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 06/06/2013
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The brutal murder of the Reverend George Parker in the rural village of Oddingley on Midsummer's Day in 1806 - shot and beaten to death, his body set on fire and left smouldering in his own glebe field - gripped everyone from the Home Secretary in London to newspapermen across the country. It was a strange and stubborn case. The investigation lasted twenty-four years and involved inquests, judges and coroners, each more determined than the last to solve Oddingley's most gruesome crime - or crimes, as it turned out.

With a cast of characters straight out of Hardy, Damn His Blood is a nail-biting true story of brutality, greed and ruthlessness which brings an elusive society vividly back to life.

Publisher: Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9780099554677
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 330 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Written in the vein of Kate Summerscale's The Suspicions Of Mr Whicher, Moore's story is in many ways more compelling - Herald

Squire Haggard meets Midsomer Murders - Waterstones.com

A nail-biter - Daily Mail

A terrific read. First class research, beautifully written, a true thriller about an extraordinary story - Edwina Currie

The clever thing is how deftly Peter Moore tells his story. At the time, the murders were a sensation so there are plenty of historical documents, but he has arranged the details in a way that shows a very canny eye for story-telling - Nicholas Lezard, Guardian

You may also be interested in...

Hellhound on his Trail
Added to basket
Naming Jack the Ripper
Added to basket
Selling Hitler
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Forensics
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Complete Jack The Ripper
Added to basket
The Napoleon of Crime
Added to basket
World's Top Twenty Worst Crimes
Added to basket
Zodiac
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Cocky
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Homicide
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Gangs of Manchester
Added to basket
Wicked Beyond Belief
Added to basket
In Cold Blood
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Complete and Essential Jack the Ripper
Added to basket
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
Added to basket

“Pride and Extreme Prejudice”

I sometimes envy m’colleagues on the fiction floor. Whenever they want to recommend a book, they get to jump and down with ecstatic grins on their faces saying things like ‘I LOVED Fifty Shades of Grey!’ or ‘You... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 33

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: