Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
Da Vinci's Ghost: The untold story of Vitruvian Man (Paperback)
  • Da Vinci's Ghost: The untold story of Vitruvian Man (Paperback)
zoom

Da Vinci's Ghost: The untold story of Vitruvian Man (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 06/02/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Vitruvian Man is the world's most famous drawing, by one of the world's most famous artists. The image - named after a Roman architect and engineer, Vitruvius - has become visual shorthand for artistic genius and scientific inquiry, and yet little is known about it. In Da Vinci's Ghost, critically acclaimed historian Toby Lester examines the forces that converged in 1490 to turn an idea that had been around for centuries into this iconic image, bringing the ghost of an unknown Leonardo da Vinci back to life. Rooted in little-known episodes of the artist's colourful career, and taking in ideas including theories of the cosmos, Roman land-surveying and the relationship between anatomy and architecture, the book tells the story of his evolving, lifelong study of the human body, restoring in vivid detail the intellectual and cultural spheres of fifteenth-century Florence and Milan. Beautifully illustrated with da Vinci's drawings and those of his predecessors, Da Vinci's Ghost is both a personal story and a grand saga of intellectual discovery that brilliantly reconstructs the artistry and scholarship of one of the world's greatest creative minds.

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781846684555
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
In reconstructing the forgotten story of Vitruvian Man, Toby Lester, a canny decoder of images and a great storyteller, sheds new light on the enigmatic Leonardo da Vinci. -- Chris Anderson, editor * Wired *
Like Da Vinci's famous drawing, Toby Lester's book is a small wonder-a work of brilliant compression that illuminates a whole world of life and thought. -- Cullen Murphy, editor at large * Vanity Fair *
Erudite, elegant, enthralling. This is a wonderful book. Toby Lester understands, and makes us understand, the unique intensity with which Leonardo saw the world. He saw it not only in its infinite diversity but also as an impression of his own self, an explanation of what it means to be human. Hence Vitruvian Man. -- Sister Wendy Beckett
Every once in a while that rare book comes along that is not only wonderfully written and utterly compelling but also alters the way you perceive the world. Toby Lester's Da Vinci's Ghost is such a book. Like a detective, Lester uncovers the secrets of an iconic drawing and pieces together a magisterial history of art and ideas and beauty. -- David Grann, author of The Lost City of Z
Like almost everyone, I've seen Leonardo's drawing of the nude man in the circle. But until I read Toby Lester's terrific new book, I had no idea about the story behind the picture--or even that there *was* a story behind the picture. Deftly weaving together art, architecture, history, theology and much else, Da Vinci's Ghost is a first-rate intellectual enchantment. -- Charles Mann, author of 1493 and 1491
Da Vinci's Ghost is both a beautiful and a brilliant book. After reading Lester's account, you will never be able to look at Leonardo's Vitruvian Man the same way again. -- Howard Markel, author of An Anatomy of Addiction
In the tradition of Dava Sobel and Stephen Greenblatt and, increasingly, himself, Toby Lester takes us on yet another marvelous mind ramble, this time following the wending centuries-long course, or rather the veritable watershed of such courses, that led to Leonardo's Vitruvian Man. -- Lawrence Weschler, director, the New York Institute for the Humanities, and author of Uncanny Valley: Adventures in the Narrative
Lester braids intellectual threads-philosophy, anatomy, architecture, and art-together in a way that reaffirms not only Leonardo's genius but also re-establishes the significance of historical context in understanding great works of art. * Publishers Weekly, Starred review *
Lester... beautifully demonstrates the intellectual pedigree of Leonardo's image -- Moira Jeffrey * The Scotsman *

You may also be interested in...

Cezanne
Added to basket
£20.99
Paperback
Fashion on the Ration
Added to basket
Medieval Bodies
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Mr Five Per Cent
Added to basket
Lost, Stolen or Shredded
Added to basket
Rogues' Gallery
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Art of Rivalry
Added to basket
Vermeer's Hat
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Rogues' Gallery
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Quest For Mary Magdalene
Added to basket
The Parthenon
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
14-18 NOW
Added to basket
£35.00
Hardback
Civilisations: First Contact / The Cult of Progress
Added to basket
Van Gogh
Added to basket
£25.00
Paperback
The Economist: Cover Story
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.