Crucible of Secrets: Alexander Seaton 3, from the author of the prizewinning Seeker series - Alexander Seaton (Paperback)
  • Crucible of Secrets: Alexander Seaton 3, from the author of the prizewinning Seeker series - Alexander Seaton (Paperback)
zoom

Crucible of Secrets: Alexander Seaton 3, from the author of the prizewinning Seeker series - Alexander Seaton (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 12/04/2012
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A gripping historical thriller from the CWA award-winning author of The Seeker - a must-read for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements

'One of the best writers of historical crime' The Times

Aberdeen, 1631. University librarian Robert Sim takes receipt of a gift of books recently arrived from overseas, mysterious works on alchemy and hermetics - the pursuit of ancient knowledge. By nightfall he has been brutally murdered.

His colleague and good friend Alexander Seaton is left with the task of hunting for clues as to his killer's motive, as well as locating the missing books. What did Sim discover in the package, and what makes these books so dangerous?

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781849163163
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 326 g
Dimensions: 200 x 147 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'... a puzzler of intrigue, politics and religion, particularly the growing fascination with mysterious brotherhoods' Time Out. * Time Out *
'The period detail is excellent; the Aberdeen of the time is richly imagined, and the dialogue is terrifically subtle. The characterisation too is accomplished with both major and minor characters clearly and enjoyably distinct' Historical Novels Review. * Historical Novels Review *
'a gripping and well-written treat' Good Book Guide. * Good Book Guide *
'Seaton is a compellingly flawed yet indomitable figure who inspires our respect, pity and empathy in equal measure ... Crucible of Secrets is a yarn that romps along at breakneck speed ... What is perhaps more admirable is her ability to paint effervescently vivid historical pictures that immediately bring the period to life' Scottish Field. * Scottish Field *
'Admirers of Shona MacLean's earlier novels will not be disappointed by the latest appearance of her Scottish sleuth, Alexander Seaton. Newcomers to the series be warned! You will find yourselves plunged into the claustrophobic society of 17th century Aberdeen, where fear stalks the corridors of academia and student battles besmirch the public beach ... Crucible of Secrets has a satisfying plot, but more importantly it has satisfying characters and a setting that educates as well as entertains. Alexander Seaton is well served' Shotsmag. * Shotsmag *
'an ingenious plot involving freemasonry, Rosicrucianism and the adventures of Scottish students on the Continent to explain the killing' Sunday Times. * Sunday Times *

You may also be interested in...

Nothing Ventured
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Tombland
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Drowned City
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Grove of the Caesars
Added to basket
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
The Axeman's Jazz
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Luminaries
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Doll Factory
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Art of Dying
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
A Gambling Man
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Hidden in Plain Sight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Burial Circle
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Amatuerishly bad...”

Having read the likes of Leoni, Sansom and Eco, and developed a taste for 'history mysteries', I found this and was persuaded by the blurb on the back. Seventeenth-century Aberdeen? Gruesome murder at a... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.