Countless (Paperback)
  • Countless (Paperback)
zoom

Countless (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 04/05/2017
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Heartbreaking, life-affirming, brave and bold - Karen Gregory's debut is a completely different kind of love story. 'Is there anything that's concerning you?' Felicity says. `College, home, boyfriends?' Though she's more or less smiling at this last one. I don't smile. Instead, I feel my face go hot. Silence stretches as wide as an ocean. When I look up, Felicity has this expression on her face like she's just seen Elvis. Slowly, she leans forward and in a gentle voice I've never heard her use before she says, 'Have you done a pregnancy test?' When Hedda discovers she is pregnant, she doesn't believe she could ever look after a baby. The numbers just don't add up. She is young, and still in the grip of an eating disorder that controls every aspect of how she goes about her daily life. She's even given her eating disorder a name - Nia. But as the days tick by, Hedda comes to a decision: she and Nia will call a truce, just until the baby is born. 17 weeks, 119 days, 357 meals. She can do it, if she takes it one day at a time ... Heartbreaking and hopeful by turns, Karen Gregory's debut novel is a story of love, heartache and human resilience. And how the things that matter most can't be counted. Fans of Lisa Williamson, Sara Barnard and Sarah Crossan will fall in love with Karen's writing.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408882504
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 265 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Moving and thought-provoking * Irish Times *
A heart-breaking, hopeful and highly-unusual debut * Metro, Imogen Russell Williams *
Countless is written with empathy and deep compassion and we could all do with more of that. * The Bookbag, Jill Murphy *
Insightful, authentic and profoundly moving ...This is an important, impactful, mightily impressive debut about love, reaching out and taking one step at a time * LoveReading4Kids *
Bold and brilliant * Books A Go Go *
Everyone should read this * The Bibliophile Girl *
An emotive story of love and choices ... easily one of the standout debuts of the year. * 100 Words or Less *
I inhaled this book. I was emotionally involved from the very start and couldn't bear to put it down ... Though Countless is heartbreaking it is also full of heart, and it celebrates the power of finding your people and your self and the resilience to keep going. * Rhino Reads *
The tonic for fluffy contemporaries * Heartful of Books *

You may also be interested in...

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
Everything, Everything
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Holes
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Leah on the Offbeat
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
A Darkest Minds Novel: The Darkest Minds
Added to basket
The Trouble with Perfect
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Dear Evan Hansen
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
Always and Forever, Lara Jean
Added to basket
Noughts & Crosses
Added to basket
Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes?
Added to basket
Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children
Added to basket
P.S. I Still Love You
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
To All the Boys I've Loved Before
Added to basket
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“emotional”

what an engrossing, emotional and addictive read, Hedda is obsessed by numbers, she's 17 fallen pregnant and trying to get over an eating disorder which she has been completely defined by - she even gave it a... More

Paperback edition
31st May 2017
Helpful? Upvote 120

“An Important Read”

I’ve only read one book centred on Anorexia Nervosa before, and that was Wintergirls by Laurie Anderson. As soon as I saw that the Lovely Bloomsbury India was going to be releasing Countless here, I knew I HAD to read... More

Paperback edition
22nd June 2017
Helpful? Upvote 20

“Raw, Honest and Gripping”

This is an emotional, at times heartbreakingly raw story of a young girl in the grips of anorexia who discovers she is pregnant.

Dealing with the realities of life as a young, single mother, as well as the myriad... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
15th June 2017
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.