• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The books you love, the emails you want
Opt in by 25 May or you'll stop hearing from us
REVIEW NOW
Countless (Paperback)
  • Countless (Paperback)
zoom

Countless (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 04/05/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Heartbreaking, life-affirming, brave and bold - Karen Gregory's debut is a completely different kind of love story. 'Is there anything that's concerning you?' Felicity says. `College, home, boyfriends?' Though she's more or less smiling at this last one. I don't smile. Instead, I feel my face go hot. Silence stretches as wide as an ocean. When I look up, Felicity has this expression on her face like she's just seen Elvis. Slowly, she leans forward and in a gentle voice I've never heard her use before she says, 'Have you done a pregnancy test?' When Hedda discovers she is pregnant, she doesn't believe she could ever look after a baby. The numbers just don't add up. She is young, and still in the grip of an eating disorder that controls every aspect of how she goes about her daily life. She's even given her eating disorder a name - Nia. But as the days tick by, Hedda comes to a decision: she and Nia will call a truce, just until the baby is born. 17 weeks, 119 days, 357 meals. She can do it, if she takes it one day at a time ... Heartbreaking and hopeful by turns, Karen Gregory's debut novel is a story of love, heartache and human resilience. And how the things that matter most can't be counted. Fans of Lisa Williamson, Sara Barnard and Sarah Crossan will fall in love with Karen's writing.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408882504
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 265 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Moving and thought-provoking * Irish Times *
A heart-breaking, hopeful and highly-unusual debut * Metro, Imogen Russell Williams *
Countless is written with empathy and deep compassion and we could all do with more of that. * The Bookbag, Jill Murphy *
Insightful, authentic and profoundly moving ...This is an important, impactful, mightily impressive debut about love, reaching out and taking one step at a time * LoveReading4Kids *
Bold and brilliant * Books A Go Go *
Everyone should read this * The Bibliophile Girl *
An emotive story of love and choices ... easily one of the standout debuts of the year. * 100 Words or Less *
I inhaled this book. I was emotionally involved from the very start and couldn't bear to put it down ... Though Countless is heartbreaking it is also full of heart, and it celebrates the power of finding your people and your self and the resilience to keep going. * Rhino Reads *
The tonic for fluffy contemporaries * Heartful of Books *
Book Launch - Skylarks by Karen Gregory

Book Launch - Skylarks by Karen Gregory

Swindon
Saturday 5th May 15:00 - 17:00

Join us for the launch and signing of Skylarks, the new YA novel from local author Karen Gregory.

View

You may also be interested in...

Everything, Everything
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Noughts & Crosses
Added to basket
INK
Added to basket
INK
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Eve of Man
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Court of Frost and Starlight
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
It Only Happens in the Movies
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Clean
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Darkest Minds Novel: The Darkest Minds
Added to basket
Love Simon
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Things a Bright Girl Can Do
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Orphan Monster Spy
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
13 Minutes
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Holes
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“emotional”

what an engrossing, emotional and addictive read, Hedda is obsessed by numbers, she's 17 fallen pregnant and trying to get over an eating disorder which she has been completely defined by - she even gave it a... More

Paperback edition
31st May 2017
Helpful? Upvote 105

“Raw, Honest and Gripping”

This is an emotional, at times heartbreakingly raw story of a young girl in the grips of anorexia who discovers she is pregnant.

Dealing with the realities of life as a young, single mother, as well as the myriad... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
15th June 2017
Helpful? Upvote 16

“An Important Read”

I’ve only read one book centred on Anorexia Nervosa before, and that was Wintergirls by Laurie Anderson. As soon as I saw that the Lovely Bloomsbury India was going to be releasing Countless here, I knew I HAD to read... More

Paperback edition
22nd June 2017
Helpful? Upvote 15

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.