Control (Paperback)
  • Control (Paperback)
zoom

Control (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 08/08/2019
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A dark and compulsive medical thriller written by a doctor who has seen it all, perfect for fans of Don't Wake Up and Tess Gerritsen. 'A suspenseful and frightening thriller' Lynda La Plante Renowned surgeon Michael Trenchard locks his office door and prepares for a relaxing evening. But what follows is a living nightmare when later he is discovered in a locked-in coma, the victim of an auto-erotic asphyxiation. It is left to Doctor Kash Devan, Trenchard's young protege, to uncover the truth. And what he discovers is chilling . . . In his ruthless pursuit of wealth and success, Trenchard has left a trail of wrecked lives, and angry people, behind him. Which of Trenchard's victims hated him so much that they wanted to ruin not only his reputation, but his life as well? Not all doctors are heroes . . .

Publisher: Zaffre
ISBN: 9781785767432
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 383 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The end, when it finally comes, is unexpected to say the least and if you think you have sussed out who set-up the good Consultant, or indeed why, then you still won't guess the ending... A good one for Summer holiday reading and whilst also praying that you never, ever get admitted to the hospital where this thriller is set * SHOTS Magazine *
This is an immensely engrossing read, yes there's a lot of medical jargon, but it's all explained in layman's terms, the characters are all so well developed thanks to Hugh Montgomery's writing, it has a sense of reality and no small amount of tension. The ending is marvelously shocking and yet understandable...if you like House or Grey's anatomy you are going to love this * Orlando Book Blog *
There were lots of characters who had reasons to hate Trenchard and several red-herrings thrown in to keep the reader on their toes and once again, I didn't work out what happened until the reveal. A great medical thriller which I would recommend * Compulsive Readers *
But it is a novel with a solid foundation in authenticity and impeccable knowledge. There is an well drawn sense of place and it's setting is vivid in the mind's eye. The addition to detail is apparent from the start and it grounds the events in an uncomfortable reality, which makes its unfolding events even more chilling. With a well paced plot and believable dialogue, this is a snappy and intriguing thriller that will keep you guessing right up to the last sentence. * Book Bound Blog *

You may also be interested in...

The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Therapist
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Feast
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Daylight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Windsor Knot
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A medical thriller that keeps you praying you’ll never have to go to hospital again.”

I do love a good medical thriller and in Control, Hugh Montgomery has given us a well paced and chilling thriller with all the elements required to make the reader wonder if they ever want to endure a stay in hospital... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

“Grey’s Anatomy meets a classic whodunnit”

When Trenchard, a senior physician is found near-dead in a compromising position in his office surrounded by drugs, pornography and a noose, everyone suspects his fantasies went a step too far, but one of his junior... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15
Elite Reviewing Group

“A twisted tale of revenge.”

A twisted tale of revenge

Imagine your worst fear, being conscious but unable to move or communicate. To feel pain and discomfort but have no way to stop it, to know that your life hangs in the balance and that your... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.