Concussion (Movie Tie-in Edition) (Paperback)
  • Concussion (Movie Tie-in Edition) (Paperback)
zoom

Concussion (Movie Tie-in Edition) (Paperback)

(author)
£12.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 27/10/2015
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
In September of 2002, Dr. Bennet Omalu performed an autopsy that would change the course of his life. The body on the slab at the coroner's office in Pittsburgh belonged to a 53 year-old named Mike Webster, who also happened to be a legendary, Hall of Fame center for the Pittsburgh Steelers. The same Mike Webster who, after retiring, suffered a dizzyingly steep decline in mental health; who was living out of his van; who treated his back pain with a Taser and used Super Glue to fix his rotting teeth. How did this happen? How did a relatively young man like Mike Webster end up like this? Omalu wanted to know. As a young Nigerian man born against the brutal backdrop of the Biafra Civil War, Omalu was all too familiar with death. Working as a forensic pathologist let him act as an advocate for the dead; a deeply religious man, he considered it his calling. What he discovered in Mike Webster's brain -- evidence of a trauma-related disease, similar to Alzheimer's, that he named CTE -- was proof that Webster's decline was no accident, and he knew that it would kill scores of other athletes unless something was done to address it. Omalu naively believed that the NFL would welcome this discovery. Instead, it tried to destroy him, and discredit his findings. Taut and gorgeously told, this is the intensely personal story of one man's fight against a multi-billion dollar colossus determined to crush him. For fans of A Beautiful Mind and The Blind Side, this is a gripping and, ultimately, deeply affirming book.

Publisher: Random House USA Inc
ISBN: 9780812989267
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 218 g
Dimensions: 203 x 132 x 18 mm
Edition: Media tie-in

You may also be interested in...

More Than a Woman
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Fake Law
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret Barrister
Added to basket
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Agent Sonya
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How Animals Saved My Life: Being the Supervet
Added to basket
Quite
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Mercies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One Two Three Four: The Beatles in Time
Added to basket
Motherwell
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Conversations on Love
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Reasons to Stay Alive
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Becoming
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
This is Going to Hurt
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Three Women
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Landslide
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.