Complex Analysis: In the Spirit of Lipman Bers - Graduate Texts in Mathematics 245 (Hardback)
  • Complex Analysis: In the Spirit of Lipman Bers - Graduate Texts in Mathematics 245 (Hardback)
zoom

Complex Analysis: In the Spirit of Lipman Bers - Graduate Texts in Mathematics 245 (Hardback)

(author), (author), (author)
£54.99
Hardback 306 Pages / Published: 20/11/2012
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

The authors' aim here is to present a precise and concise treatment of those parts of complex analysis that should be familiar to every research mathematician. They follow a path in the tradition of Ahlfors and Bers by dedicating the book to a very precise goal: the statement and proof of the Fundamental Theorem for functions of one complex variable. They discuss the many equivalent ways of understanding the concept of analyticity, and offer a leisure exploration of interesting consequences and applications. Readers should have had undergraduate courses in advanced calculus, linear algebra, and some abstract algebra. No background in complex analysis is required.

Publisher: Springer-Verlag New York Inc.
ISBN: 9781441973221
Number of pages: 306
Weight: 6092 g
Dimensions: 235 x 155 x 19 mm
Edition: 2nd ed. 2012


MEDIA REVIEWS

From the reviews of the second edition:

"The book under review is a second edition of a book by the same authors and with the same title, also published by Springer in 2007. It contains some amount of new information. ... The book is carefully written and each chapter has an interesting list of exercises. I found it very useful as am Undergraduate and Graduate Text in Mathematics." (Jose M. Ansemil, The European Mathematical Society, euro-math-soc.eu, January, 2014)

From the reviews:

"The book is written in a clear and easily readable manner, completed with a well cared selection of exercises. The book, which is certainly useful for all specialists and lecturers in complex analysis, I also recommend to beginners in this area." (Fernando Perez-Gonzalez, Zentralblatt MATH, Vol. 1262, 2013)

"This is a fairly conventional text for a first course in complex analysis. It is an interesting mix of the concrete and the abstract, and of the formulaic and the geometric. It has good exercises ... . It is nominally a graduate text (it is in Springer's series of Graduate Texts in Mathematics) ... . The book covers all the usual topics for a first course and includes a lot of advanced topics ... ." (Allen Stenger, MathDL, February, 2008)

"This book is based on the original courses of Complex Analysis that was delivered by the well-known American specialist and lecturer in Analysis, Professor Lipman Bers. ... the book is written in a clear and easily readable manner. ... this book is useful for all specialists and lecturers in Complex Analysis ... and also all specialists who deal with applications of Complex Analysis. I also recommend this book to beginners who want to study Complex Analysis ... ." (Peter Zabreiko, Zentralblatt MATH, Vol. 1139 (17), 2008)

You may also be interested in...

The Cartoon Guide to Calculus
Added to basket
Classical Mechanics
Added to basket
Schaum's Outline of Vector Analysis
Added to basket
Calculus for the Ambitious
Added to basket
Maths for Chemistry
Added to basket
£29.99
Paperback
A First Course in Real Analysis
Added to basket
How to Think About Analysis
Added to basket
An Equation for Every Occasion
Added to basket
Advanced Calculus Demystified
Added to basket
Introduction to Complex Analysis
Added to basket
A Brief Guide to the Great Equations
Added to basket
Measurement
Added to basket
£14.95
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.