Commentary on Thomas Aquinas's Treatise on Law (Paperback)
  • Commentary on Thomas Aquinas's Treatise on Law (Paperback)
zoom

Commentary on Thomas Aquinas's Treatise on Law (Paperback)

(author)
£24.99
Paperback 520 Pages / Published: 29/09/2016
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Natural moral law stands at the center of Western ethics and jurisprudence and plays a leading role in interreligious dialogue. Although the greatest source of the classical natural law tradition is Thomas Aquinas's Treatise on Law, the Treatise is notoriously difficult, especially for nonspecialists. J. Budziszewski has made this formidable work luminous. This book - the first classically styled, line-by-line commentary on the Treatise in centuries - reaches out to philosophers, theologians, social scientists, students, and general readers alike. Budziszewski shows how the Treatise facilitates a dialogue between author and reader. Explaining and expanding upon the text in light of modern philosophical developments, he expounds this work of the great thinker not by diminishing his reasoning, but by amplifying it.

Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9781316609323
Number of pages: 520
Weight: 760 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'In this much-needed contribution to the lively debates that currently rage about natural law theory, Budziszewski provides a superb line-by-line commentary on the complete text of Aquinas' Treatise on Law - the first complete commentary of this sort in centuries. The Commentary offers insightful comments on the implications of modern philosophical developments for interpreting and evaluating the positions taken by Aquinas. An enormously valuable text, not only for scholars specializing in the field but also for those just embarking on a careful study of the work.' Fr. Joseph W. Koterski, S.J., Fordham University, New York
'Budziszewksi's depth and clarity make this commentary on St Thomas an indispensable tool for student, teacher and scholar. Providing an overall context for each question, then pairing his own paraphrase with the translation of the Dominican Fathers, Budziszewski proceeds to comment in detail on each objection, sed contra, answer and reply to objection. The important yet difficult Treatise on Law is laid open to our full view by Professor Budziszewski - clearly the fruit of many years of close study.' John Hittinger, University of St Thomas, Houston
'No area of public life is more confused than law and what it is. In this context, few books could be more significant than a complete, accurate and thorough reading and rereading of Aquinas' famous Treatise on Law. Budziszewski has performed an enormous service to intelligence and to clarity of public order in providing this detailed, yet readable and intellectually profound, commentary. It is a demanding book about a demanding topic, one that has been left too long unexamined in the tradition of Aquinas.' James V. Schall, S.J., Professor Emeritus, Georgetown University, Washington DC

You may also be interested in...

So You've Been Publicly Shamed
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
12 Rules for Life
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.00
Hardback
The Road Less Travelled
Added to basket
Meditations
Added to basket
£4.99
Paperback
From Bacteria to Bach and Back
Added to basket
Enlightenment Now
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
The Daily Stoic
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Against Empathy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Republic
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Happy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Righteous Mind
Added to basket
On Liberty
Added to basket
£4.99
Paperback
The Order of Time
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
A Little History of Philosophy
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Ikigai
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
On the Shortness of Life
Added to basket
£4.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.